‘The Recipe’

I’ll tell you what. The Baldwin sisters have nothing on the Goldsmith girls.

That’s for sure.

On an interesting side note, my cousin Mary has learned that Kate Middleton’s mother’s maiden name is Goldsmith.

We are expecting our invites any day now.

This is my sister Kathy’s recipe for what she likes to call ‘Christmas Cheer’.

She shared it with me and now we like to refer to it as ‘the recipe’. I am super confident that it kicks the Baldwin sisters recipes’ behind.

I am wondering if there are younger people reading this and thinking ‘who the heck are the Baldwin sisters?’.

HELLO?!?!

They lived on Walton Mountain back in the 30’s during the days of prohibition.

They were old and crazy.

My sister and I are not old.

Anyways. I used to love me some Waltons back in the 70’s. My dad did not share the Walton love. He would come into the living room and say: ‘Are you watching this assy show?’

Assy.

One of his most derogatory terms.

I think this just might be the actual Baldwin sisters still.

Since it is 2010, you can do away with the still in the woods and just use a blender on your counter.

Start with the whiskey. You can use 1 1/2-2 cups. I use 1 3/4 just to be on the safe side. Pour slowly because it splashes.

And if you are one of the Goldsmith girls reading this, you are going to want to stop right here and take a big whiff. You will be consumed by memories of Grandma Bea and Grandpa Hoffman.

If you can find a friend to stand next to you and smoke a pipe while you are sniffing the whiskey, you will probably be able to see the specter of Grandpa peering over your shoulder into the blender to see what is going on.

Add your eggs. They are kind of hard to see in there. Don’t worry about salmonella or egg poisoning or bird flu. We have been making this and drinking it for years and have never gotten any of those ailments.

Sweetened Condensed milk. Go ahead and use the fat free kind if it makes you feel better.

2-4 good size tablespoons of Hersheys Syrup depending on your love of chocolate. I use 4 in my recipe.

Half and Half.

Does anyone know what the two halves actually are?

Two tablespoons of vanilla. You can add a 1/2 teaspoon of  almond extract here if you wish. I never do because, really, who has almond extract laying around. You could also add 1/4 teaspoon of coconut extract as well, although sister Kathy advises against it because it gave her hives once.

Hit blend and let it go for a minute.

Better than Baileys.

No joke.

You could keep it all for yourself and drink it straight out of the blender if you were so inclined.

However, I like to make batches of this for friends, so I try to pretty it up.

This is the little water pitcher that came with my steam mop. It works fabulously for this purpose as well. You could also use a funnel if you have one.

You are going to need some empty wine bottles and some ribbon. The ribbon you can just pick up at the store, but you are going to have to put forth a little effort for the wine bottles.

It comes in handy if you are a wino.

Or if you have friends who are winos, you could ask for their empty bottles.

If all else fails, I could lend you some.

Wino friends that is, not wine bottles. I need those.

Careful. You don’t want to spill and have to lick it up off the floor.

Make sure the winos save the corks too.

I just slap a ribbon around the neck and call it good, but you creative types could go all out with the bottle decor.

One batch will fill about 1 1/2 bottles. Usually I make multiple batches all at once and deliver them to people in need of Christmas Cheer. This time I only made one batch because I wanted to get you guys the recipe before it was too late in the season. I usually make and present this the weekend before Christmas.

Which means I keep the leftovers from this batch.

No fancy bottle for us though….

Waltons style.

You can drink it over ice or add it to coffee and hot chocolate if you need to warm your toes.

Guaranteed to bring Christmas Cheer to the most assy of grinches…….

Ho Ho Ho

 

CHRISTMAS CHEER

1 1/2 -2 cups whiskey

4 eggs

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1 cup half & half

2-4 Tbl. of Hersheys Syrup

2 Tbl. pure vanilla extract

1/2 tsp almond extract (optional)

1/4 tsp coconut extract (super optional)

Blend all ingredients together for a minute or two and pour into bottles.

Keep in the refrigerator up to two weeks. (Realistically will be gone in about 3 days)

 


 

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘The Recipe’

  1. Kristin says:

    Oooooh, that sounds delicious.

  2. Sandy says:

    This sounds so delish. I may have to make it for the holidays. I know some assy grinches. Ha Ha.

Leave a Reply

