North & South (Mostly South)

Do you remember that mini series? If you are over 35, you probably do. It probably sticks in your memory like the Waltons Christmas Special, Thornbirds and the original Footloose movie.

Kevin Bacon stories anyone?

So.

(By the way, I am trying something different and putting captions on the pictures.)

Step One. Mix Cake Guts.

Apparently this is a southern dessert and I am trying to figure out why all the REALLY great desserts come from the south.

Step Two. Boil this together and add to cake guts. Pink cup is 'fake' buttermilk.

 

Red velvet cake, pecan pie, Mississippi Mud pie, peach cobbler, anything Paula Deen even thinks about baking, etc.

How come the yankees got so ripped off? Is it because they won the war? I don’t get it.

This is what coca cola looks like when you boil it with butter and cocoa powder.

I think I should have been born in the south so that my love for their desserts could have been fully explored.

Here is the latest.

Coca Cola Cake.

Step Three. Add boiled coca cola goop to cake guts.

Now let me just tell you, if a brownie and a piece of fudge got married and had babies, I think the babies would taste like this cake.

AH-MAZING

Step Four (or is it five? Can't remember and too lazy to scroll back) Add eggs and vanilla.

Similar to Texas sheet cake (again-from the south) but better!

Genius.

Butter, coca cola and cocoa powder.

Bout 5 minutes before cake is done, boil some more coca cola goop, only THIS time after it boils, slowly add about 4 cups of powdered sugar.

I think next time I make it (which will be very soon-I am thinking Thanksgiving) I will use the Hershey’s special dark cocoa powder.

I cannot describe the goodness of this cake beyond the whole brownie fudge baby analogy, so you are just going to have to make it.

Don't over bake it! 30-35 minutes until the old toothpick comes out clean.

Today.

Pour the warm glaze right on top of the hot cake.

No, really. Make it.

Let it cool for what will be the longest hour of your life.

Right.

Now.

This is normally where I tell you to buy bigger pants, but this cake is so seriously good, I don’t think there are pants BIG enough to contain it’s goodness.

So just don’t wear any pants at all when you eat it.

Just kidding.

Sort of.

But not really.

 

COCA COLA CAKE

Mix:
2cups flour
2cups sugar
1/2tsp salt
1tsp baking powder
1/2tsp cinnamon

In a saucepan over medium high heat stir this up until it boils:
1 cup butter
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup coca-cola
1/2 cup buttermilk

Remove from heat and add that to the flour mixture & whisk until combined.

Then add:
2 eggs
1tsp vanilla extract

Mix, put in 9 x 13 pan, bake it for about 30-35 minutes. Don’t over bake!

About 5 minutes before cake is done, start mixing up the glaze in a saucepan over medium heat.
1/2cup butter
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup coca cola

Once that boils, remove and slowly stir in 4 cups of confectioners’ sugar. Whisk all the little white clumps out. You could add pecans or walnuts here if your kids don’t freak out about nuts.

Once cake is done and out of ovenpour this warm glaze right over the top of the hot cake!

Wait forevah!

Take off your pants.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to North & South (Mostly South)

  1. Brandon says:

    They tasted great!!!!

  2. Cousin Mary says:

    Ok, I’m going to make this for Sophia’s 13th birthday next week but I’m going to have to re-name it the Justin Beiber cake are something more apporpriate for the entrance to teenhood. I may need to hide in a closet and eat the entire thing when the clock strikes “13″. No pants on.

  3. Dana says:

    Cake Made. Waiting has begun. I’ve tasted everything along the way and I am having a hard time containing my excitement. MUST EAT.

  4. Missy says:

    Making this tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

