Thrifty Goodness

OOOOh I love a good trip to the thrift. Most of you are painfully aware of this obsession. I love it for sooo many reasons. It is the ultimate treasure hunt. You never know what you will find. Certainly you will find some junk.  OK. A lot of junk. But beneath the piles of outright crap, you can find the most shining stars.

I have found that when you thrift, things come in bunches. I like to call them ‘Thrift Clusters’. Like these:

All size 2T Gymboree in perfect condition for Carly next fall.

See if you find a gem in size 2T or 5 or 7 or vintage glassware or wherever, you will generally come upon a thrift cluster which is simply a cluster of good things in that particular size or genre of goodness.

I hit a cluster yesterday. Yesterdays cluster was all Carly although I did snag a few goodies for me and a couple things to sell on ebay. The profit from things on ebay will more than pay for what I spent yesterday. Here is the cluster:

Seriously–tag still on it. I happen to know that particular sweater was $34.75

From the Gap..like new down quilted jacket. Anyone’s guess as to the original retail price, probably around $55.

So if you find something great, make sure you spend a lot of time in whatever section you are in. This is especially true of kids clothes. People donate in bulk, so it stands to reason. If some little old lady collected vintage whatzits and she dies (sorry-truth hurts) and her kids get rid of all her stuff (As will most certainly be the case when I die)…..Voila! A Thrift Cluster!

So Carly was the lucky one this time, next time is anyone’s guess. And, BONUS, after Carly wears all her stuff, I will re-sell it on ebay for about 3-4 times what I paid. This is the reason I am pretty brand picky when thrifting. Not because I am a label snob, but let’s face it other people are and labels sell. Especially on ebay.

Thrifting is good for sooo many reasons besides being fun. You save money.  You can make money. You have way cooler unique things than you can find at the big box store. (Don’t get me wrong, I Luuuurve me some Tar-jay) And thrifting is good for the environment! WAHHOOOO! I am Green!

No really! I recycle (ok-mostly wine bottles…but still!) I even make my own cleaner but that is a story for another day.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Thrift Store Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thrifty Goodness

  1. Missy and Rob says:

    the ultimate “green” living!!! love it love it love it!

  2. Vicky says:

    Hi, Janice. Just found your blog today. You were always the awesomest thrift store queen, it is fun to see your finds online:)

  3. Sister Cindy says:

    You are your mothers daughter. I must be more like dad. C

  4. sue says:

    I totally agree about your cluster observation. It happened to me just this week…at Goodwill. I love aluminum trays, etc and there was a number of them, plus a couple of really unique pieces. When I Googled one of them, it was worth $30. While I was enjoying my little score, I had the absolute same thought, that someone who collected aluminum must have died. I console myself with the thought that whoever had the pieces would be happy that their belongings were going to a good home.

    Great minds.

Leave a Reply

