Blueberry Buckle

I have tried and tried to figure out why this cake is called a buckle and I simply cannot come up with an answer. My mom has made it for as long as I remember and always called it Blueberry Buckle. Maybe because if you eat too much, you can’t buckle your pants? At any rate this is one of the great mysteries of life…..

If you happen to have any blueberries lying around–it is a great way to use them up, kind of a cross between a muffin and a coffee cake.

JAN’S (that’s my mom) BLUEBERRY BUCKLE

Turn the oven to 375

3/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup shortening (use the stick kind–way less messy)

1 egg

Cream these together and set aside

In a bowl combine

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder ( I LOVE Clabber Girl brand–just because it is called Clabber Girl)

1/4 tsp salt

Mix the dry into the shortening mixture alternately adding 3/4 cup of milk (Does this make sense?)

You throw in some of the flour mixture, then some of the milk, stir and repeat.

Add 2 cups blueberries or a 12 oz package of frozen berries. If you use the frozen ones, let them thaw for 1/2 an hour or so otherwise it screws up the baking time and the center never gets done and the edges burn (so I’ve heard….)

The batter will be thick, like you will literally think ‘Holy crap, this is too thick’.  It’s not.

Plop it into a 8 or 9 inch square pan that you have greased or sprayed with one of those ozone eating food release sprays. You know, the kind that is a girl’s name and rhymes with ham.

Now for the scrumptious crumb topping:

1/3 cup flour

A LOT of shakes of cinnamon

More shakes of cinnamon

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 stick butter, slightly melted

Mix all together into a crumbly niceness and sprinkle all over the to. Bake 30 minutes and check and then it usually has to bake another 10-15 or until the old knife in the center comes out clean.

Nice widows peak…..

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blueberry Buckle

  1. Jennifer says:

    I think my favorite part of the entire post was “nice widows peak…” hahaha Janice! 🙂 That recipe sounds yummy! I will have to try it out next time I have blueberries!!

Leave a Reply

