Good wine ruins the purse; bad wine ruins the stomach

Ok, so the title of the post is an old Spanish saying, not an original thought by me. Now that I have cleared that up…

I am by no means a connoisseur of expensive wine. In fact I had to google how to spell connoisseur, which incidentally it is hard to google anything if you don’t know how to spell it. Neither am I a sommelier. Not really even a wine snob. I just enjoy wine. A lot.  Not sure what that makes me (a wino?) So maybe I have no business telling you about my most favorite red wine (please read with a loud Boston accent) EVAH!

And it won’t ruin your purse. Or your wallet. Or your fanny pack……(If you actually have a fanny pack, I’m sorry. If you have one and wear it, I am even sorrier….)

You can buy it at Trader Joes for a whopping $4.99 a bottle.  I KNOW! $4.99!! Crazy. It is a red table wine from France. It is smooth and super nice. Not sure whether it is oakey or briney or what it does to your palette.  And frankly, I don’t care. All I know is I love it and I want you to be aware of it and buy it at Trader Joes all the time so they never stop stocking it.

Here is a close up. Spelled L’ Authentique.  ( fancy) I have shared with many friends who absolutely agree that it is a tasty smooth red. So in the interest of caring about you and wanting to save you some $$$…..

Again, the disclaimer that I have absolutely no qualifications in wine expertise.  I did not grow up in or near Napa. My family does not have a generational history of wine making. (Well–my dad DID used to make Dandelion Wine back in the day….it is like moonshine. With Dandelions.) I have actually only recently (last 2-3 years) become a wine grown up. This means I  now drink my wine without mixing it with 7 up. My friend Jeni worked long and hard at teaching me that this is an absolutely unacceptable practice. (She is super wine smart because she is from Wine Country and she also is a fan of this wine and, just maybe a wino, like me…) So don’t ever do that (around Jeni, I would still let you because I am nice like that).

So there you have it. The story of my favorite red wine ever.  Maybe you can try some this week. Unless you don’t have a Trader Joes in your town. If that is the case, here is another option for you.

Second best wine ever

Enjoy!

P.S. Did you know that Jonny Depp has a tattoo that says ‘Wino Forever’?  Any guesses as to what it used to say

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good wine ruins the purse; bad wine ruins the stomach

  1. Jennifer says:

    winona forever! Right?

    Thanks for sharing, Janice! I love this stuff… can’t remember the brand, but it’s a framboise/ raspberry fruit beer. It pretty much tastes just like the sparkling juice, just 100,000x’s better! And I found it at Trader Joe’s last time I was visiting my mom. I highly recommend that! 🙂

  2. Janice says:

    Thanks for the tip Jen!

  3. Missy and Rob says:

    winona forever…i am so up to date on johnny…
    my traderjoes has been out of our favorite wine for weeks. i have annelise trained to get her bitty cart and head straight for the wine aisle to look for it! sorry i missed your call tonite- see you soon!

  4. Pingback: CURSES! « Feels Like Time

  5. Tony says:

    I like this wine for its smooth, fruity taste, and soft on my pallette. I will buy again.

    And, no I don’t know anybody on this page and I just wanted to drop few words for pleasure.

Leave a Reply

