Real Housewives of Henderson NV

Oh My. It was a real Housewives of the OC marathon today! Hooray that I am on vacation.  Because of that fact, my kids are still in their pjs and this is what I accomplished today. Because I can bake & watch RHOC at the same time. Not like walking and chewing gum…..So if you do not watch RHOC (apparently you are more decent than me) you might not get the references coinciding with the recipe. Too Bad.

Supposed to be Oatmeal Scotchies. But then I was inspired to add sea salt, because you can’t beat salty sweet. Then I discovered I only had 1/2 bag of butterscotch chips.

Rats.

‘Eureka’ I shouted when I discovered 1/2 bag of white chocolate chips as well. So it went something like this:

Do you see that little boy in dirty pajamas in the background? He is holding his pet snake. His name is Hot Wheels.

The snake, not the little boy.

You keep the wet & the dry ingredients separate. Not sure, why this is important, but it is. (Hey, where did that glass of wine come from?)

Then you blend them together and add the oatmeal. Did Lynn get a facelift?

And the chips. Except it seemed to me that there were not enough of the butterscotch and white chips, so I threw in a mound small handful of chocolate chips too. What the heck. Livin the Dream…..Where the heck is Turks & Caicos?

Then you kind of smoosh them down a bit. Holy Crap. Tamara & Simon are getting a divorce!

Can I wax poetic about this cookie sheet? I adore this cookie sheet. It is an old school cookie sheet and it makes the best cookies ever. Forget this airbake, holy (as in has holes, did not belong to Jesus) cookie sheet new fangled garbage. This is the real deal. My mom had one just like it. She probably still does, she never throws anything away. Child of the Great Depression and all that jazz. Washes her ziploc bags too. Anyways. If you ever see one of these sheets (found mostly at garage sales, estate sales, thrift stores) grab it. For me. Seriously. I will wrestle you for it.

Sprinkle with sea salt. SPRINKLE.  Who names a child Slade? For real?

Cool them on your pampered chef thingy. I like the NY housewives better I think.

(I super super love my old Napco cookie jar. It is truly one of my favorite things)

Pack some up real pretty and take them over to your neighbor so you can:

A) Feel virtuous and neighborly instead of like a loser bum for watching RHOC and drinking wine in the middle of the afternoon on a Thursday.

B) Ensure that you do not eat them all yourself, sealing your fate as a Real Housewife of Henderson with tight pants instead of a svelte ‘dyed haired’ woman (Miss Scarlett, Does you know a dyed haired woman?!?!”) from the OC.

Then finish up by blogging as quick as you can while the rerun episode plays so you can be done by the time the next episode starts.

Salty Butterscotchy, White chocolate, Chocolate Chocolate Chip cookies with Sea Salt (glass of wine optional)

1 c butter, softened
1 c brown sugar
1/4 c milk
1 t vanilla (My friend Neal brings me the super good stuff from Mexico. It can do double duty if I run out of wine)
1 3/4 c all-purpose flour
1/2 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
2 c oats
1 1/2 c butterscotch chips (OK-seriously, use the whole bag. Who measures chips of any kind? Really.)
1/2 c flaked unsweetened coconut
Chunky sea salt (Please do not use table salt. It must be from the sea…Sorry  Charlie…………)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine flour, baking soda, and the 1st salt measurement in a medium bowl.

2. In another bowl, beat together butter and sugar until fluffy. Add in milk and vanilla until combined. Slowly add in flour mixture and mix until just blended. Add in oats, butterscotch chips and coconut until incorporated.

3. Spoon up a large tablespoon of dough and drop it onto a cookie sheet leaving about 2 inches of space between each cookie. Slightly press down on each lump to slightly flatten and sprinkle  salt on each cookie. Bake for 12 – 14 minutes, or until cookies are golden brown. Transfer to wire rack to cool. Makes 24 – 30 cookies.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Real Housewives of Henderson NV

  1. sue says:

    I don’t believe it…I’m having a, “Feels Like Time” marathon. I thought I would start reading your blogs from the beginning of the year.

    Is that a real snake?

    Do you have ADD? Just asking, my teacher brain went, warning, she jumps from one idea to another like no body’s business. And don’t worry, I can keep up, ’cause my brain does the same darn thing.

Leave a Reply

