Lazy Daisy Leprechauns

I know you are all like “What is that ginormous gray thing?” Well–It is a hammered aluminum lazy susan. These were all the rage for the 1950’s house wife. Found it at the thrift store for about $5.  If you are now thinking “What the heck is a lazy susan?” You are in luck. Because I will tell you.

It is called a lazy susan because it is actually situated on a rotating pedestal base, so it spins. So say it is 1954 and you are at a party and want a pastry snail, or perhaps a bacon wraparound (totally googled 1950’s appetizers) or maybe, just maybe, you were hankerin for a herring appleteaser (hurk). You just look over at Susan, voice your request and she can just give that thing a spin until your dried beef roll stops right in front of you. I think Susan was inspired by the spin the bottle game.

Ok-now we cleared that up. That is my lovely daisy plate in the middle, because sadly, the separated glass relish tray (bizarre-because they are totally not filled with relish, but rather celery and sweet pickles and olives) seems to have been snagged by some other thrifter. So I substituted my daisy plate. I love it. But I must say that in 1950’s they must have had airplane hangar sized cupboards, because that thing won’t fit in any of mine.  And I CAN’T WAIT to use my lazy susan at a party. ‘Hey Janice, pass me one of those sauteed chicken livers.”  Spin.

Well.

Whatever.

But what about the little green hat????

That little green hat my friends? I have big plans for that. Huge. They involve lying to my children and turning the toilet water green and  overturning tables and building a leprechaun trap which we shall bait with leftover gold coins from the kids Christmas stockings. And speaking of…how is it that my kids have Christmas candy left in March? When I was a kid, my candy did not see December 26th.

I puffy heart St. Patrick’s Day.

I will let you in on all my plans later this week after I have finalized the blueprints for the trap. It involves a clothes basket and some barbie panties shoes…..

So I will leave you with a pic of my Leprechaun table runner. Of course it came from the thrifty. It is reversible which is usually a bonus except in this case, the leprechauns take on a ghoulish appearance. Sort of like the leprechaun from the unfortunate 1993 movie of the same name. That name being ‘Leprechaun’. In case that was not clear.

Happy Dancing Leprechaun

Freaky nightmare leprechauns.

Quick call Jennifer Aniston. (5 points if you ‘get’ that)

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lazy Daisy Leprechauns

  1. Maggie says:

    Janice…lov’in your blogs. Thanks for making me laugh!!!! :@) Maggie

Leave a Reply

