About to incite a riot…..

At Girl Scout headquarters.

Because I know that they changed the thin mint recipe a bunch of years ago. I remember when I was in girl scouts and sold these that they were different.

Better different!

Ok, so technically I dropped out of Girl Scouts, BUT I was a brownie and we had our meetings in the basement of Holy Family church and we walked like two blocks from the school to get there and of course had to pass a Dairy Queen on the way and so I always sometimes spent my dues on ice cream. And once I left a piece of chewed bubble gum in my uniform pocket (there was also a candy store along the route) and my mom washed it and then I had a big hard gum messy stain type lump in that pocket for the rest of my brownie career.

So you see I have a memory like a steel trap and I KNOW without a doubt that these

are not the same thin mints I sold back in the day. They just aren’t.

“I’m not a smart man, but I know what love a thin mint is.” (name the movie, name the movie, name the movie)

The ones I sold had a thin layer of creamy mintiness, like if you wrapped a peppermint patty around a thin mint.  The ones that are sold today are dry and kind of cardboardy.  The proof of that is the fact that if you google ‘thin mint recipe’ you will get 420 million kajillion hits about how to make thin mints with ritz crackers and they supposedly taste exactly like the GS cookies. Seriously?

Hmmmmmm

Another disconcerting thing is the proven fact that there used to be more in the box and the boxes were $1.25!

People. This. Is. A. Great. American. Travesty.

SO I am thinking we can totally picket or storm headquarters or go on a hunger strike (that is your assignment) or something until they bring back the original thin mints.

And while we are at it, let’s bring back the following:

Bubblicious Bananaberry Split Gum

Thirtysomething

Candy Cigarettes

Big hair

Twin Peaks

Trans Fats

Pong

Ma Bell

Hands Across America

Mr T. Cereal

AND


About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to About to incite a riot…..

  1. sue says:

    Get a grip!!! There was no cream in the Thin Mints… I’m going to Goggle and see if I can find this out! And my heart just aches thinking about bananaberry split bubblicious gum I can taste it just talking about it!!

  2. sue says:

    In 1951, the Girl Scouts added the Chocolate Mint (Now known as the Thin Mint) to the cookie lineup, along with the Sandwich and Shortbread varieties. The �Thin Mint� consists of a crispy cookie wafer covered in dark chocolate with a blast of pure peppermint oil. Baked together in just the right proportions, it becomes the object of many cookie addicts’ obsession. It wasn�t long before the Thin Mint became the hands down favorite amongst Girl Scout Cookie buyers, and rose quickly to the top of the best seller list.

    There you go….no cream. I think you are thinking of the ones my Mom use to buy us. They had cream in them! Steel trap….

  3. Kimberly says:

    Nicholas Cage in Moonstruck?

    And you are so right about the thin mints being different. Could it be that I lived in a very humid place (Houston) and they were not so crispy hard there? Dunno! But they were always my favs.

  4. Janice says:

    HAH Sue–I found that same paragraph and I believe they are talking in the present tense about the current recipe!
    Who was your brownie leader?

  5. Janice says:

    No Kim–Not Nicholas Cage.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Forest Gump!!!

    I just got my girl scout cookies today… I’m trying really hard not to eat them all. Thin Mints are my favorite!

  7. Pingback: Ben and Who??? « Feels Like Time

  8. Pingback: Special Brownies « Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

