Non Trans Fat Banana Muffins

Ok. I have to admit that I am not really sure what a trans fat is. So there might be some of it in these. Or not. If there are any transfatologists reading this, please explain and let me know.

One thing I do know is that ever since they removed trans fat from everything, the world has become a bit dimmer.

I am sorry. Trans fat makes stuff taste good. But as Americans we became gluttonous and took far too much advantage of the trans fat. And our pants got tight. So. Away it went.

At any rate, this is a fairly healthy recipe. They equal out to about 150 calories each. It would be healthier if you substituted whole wheat flour for the white flour, but I just have not made that switch yet. Maybe next century month.

You need two bowls to start. Because of the whole separating of the wet & dry ingredients. I highly recommend these:

They are the mama and baby pampered chef bowls. The matching lids are long gone. Sorry Pampered Chef peeps.

On an interesting note, you can totally make the barbie cake with the big one. You know what I’m, talkin ’bout Willis! You just bake the cake in the bowl, invert it and stick a barbie in the top. Or something like that.

See? I separate.

You should use pure vanilla when baking. Imitation stuff is pure crap. Sorry imitators, it just is. My friend Neal always brings me back super good vanilla from Mexico when he goes on mission trips. I puffy heart him!

Ok.

A) This is a great picture. Like so great, I should sell it to an advertiser. Or something.

B) Admittedly, I do not know what the difference is between baking soda & baking powder. (this recipe uses soda)

C) I love the Clabber Girl! Look at that super cute vintage logo. Precious.

Add your bananas last. Do you want to know a secret? Sometimes I use bananas that are not quite all the way spotty and brown. Because I love banana bread and I just can’t wait for bananas to age. I have never noticed a difference.

On a side note. Does anyone find that sometimes your family eats the heck out of bananas and so you go to the store and buy more and then they leave those until Jesus comes back?

See those rather large lumps? I chopped up an apple and threw it in there too. I don’t just suck at mashing bananas, if that’s what you were thinking.

I don’t bother with those little paper liners. Cause sometimes my kids eat them by mistake.

I had a little extra, so I filled up a baby loaf pan I had. Is that not the cutest? Reminds me of when I was little and got one of these for Christmas….

Ooooooh I super LOVED my Suzy Homemaker oven. It was truly the best! Trans fats and all…

I thought they were pretty good, but Max said they tasted weird. He could clearly detect the omission of the trans fat.

Lite Banana Muffins

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

lots of shakes of cinnamon

Mix these together in large bowl. Keep separate from wet ingredients. Or else!

4 ripe bananas

Mash & set aside

CRAP! Turn the oven to 350. QUICK!

1/4 cup skim milk

3/4 cup white sugar

1 tsp good vanilla

2 eggs

Beat these together and add to dry ingredients.

Add bananas last and mix gently

Chop up a peeled apple and throw it in there if you feel like it. Or nuts if you are not allergic. Or chocolate chips if you have a lot of room in your pants.

Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes or until the old toothpick test determines they are done.

Cry and moan about lack of trans fats.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Non Trans Fat Banana Muffins

  1. Wendy says:

    I can totally relate to the family eating up all the bananas at once, getting more and then there they sit to rot…… and I too LOVED my Suzy Homemeker oven and sink!!!! Man I feel old now!!! love reading your postings, you crack me up…… =0)

  2. Sandy says:

    Delicious! Thanks for sharing … and for visiting me!

Leave a Reply

