A Grand Day

It has been a simply marvelous day! Although I must admit I could not have predicted it when the lab lady for the life insurance company had to stick both arms to get blood this morning and then made me get on a scale. And on that subject let’s just  face the fact that Jillian Michaels & I have about as much chance of getting together lately as John & Kate.

ANYWAYS

Found ’em at Walmart! Woooot Woooot! These little suckers can be hard to find. I have already eaten my weight in them. My teeth have a ghoulish black tinge and it makes me tingle with happiness. Of course I  did drop my big bottle of Pellegrino water at the checkout and was swarmed by the cleanup brigade. They put down what looked like a mixture of sawdust and kitty litter to soak the water up. Had to close the checkout and everything. I was that person at Walmart today.

I had already been to the thrift store. It was uncharacteristically slow there today and I almost had the place to myself. I found this cool vinatge pewter looking stuff (plates, mugs, trays) but decided against picking it up. I did however make mental note of the makers mark or whatever that is called on the bottom. Because I think Makers Mark is a brand of whiskey. Or Scotch. Definitely not Vodka.

At any rate I came home and had a nagging suspicion about it. So I looked it up on ebay. And then I swooped poor Carly out of her high chair and away we went. Straight. Back. To. The. Thrift.

Folks I bought every piece that was there. And then on my way to the checkout….

Holy milk glass Batman! These were not there when I was in the store just 1 hour earlier!

This is vintage Fire King.

Can’t find a mark on this one, just the number 16.

This one is my favorite! It is from the Brody Glass Co. in good ole Cleveland, Ohio.

This makes me so tingly happy! I want to throw a Black and White party and serve only black jelly beans in milk glass.

The best part is that just one of the pewter things I can re-sell on ebay and pay for both thrift store trips today. And the broken Pellegrino bottle from Walmart….

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Grand Day

  1. Vicky says:

    I love your milk glasses and the black jelly bean idea is great:) Thanks for the note on the BLOOM Riesling, I will surely have to grab a few bottles next time I’m there.

  2. Pingback: THE Best Thrift Store Trip Ever « Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

