Ben and Who???

Why yes that is a margarita glass filled with homemade ice cream.

Made by me. And these two:

Holy Dirty Glasses!

About 4 years ago the old Ball and Chain asked what I wanted for Christmas. Hmmmm.

ME: “I want an ice cream maker”

Ball & Chain: “You’ll never use it”

ME: “You asked me what I wanted. I want an ice cream maker”

B & C: “It will be just like the bread machine”

ME: ” I never asked for the bread machine so that doesn’t count”

At this point I am feeling a surge of annoyance. I mean really. Who asks a person what they want for Christmas and then tries to talk them out of it? Why ask? Why not just go get something you think I will use (like a bread machine or the camelback waterpack thing. That was a big hit) and call it good.  If you asked me for a   Milescraft 3401 BladeChanger Saw Blade Removal Aid I would just get it for you. And. Guess What? You will need it. Because if you don’t get me an ice cream maker, I am going to shove a saw blade so far up your #%$@#$$@ that the Milescraft 3401 BladeChanger Saw Blade Removal Aid will be the only thing that can help you.

Lo and behold, there it was beneath the tree Christmas morning in all it’s shiny glory!

And it has sat in the downstairs coat closet ever since.

Because I really thought it was going to be hard and involved to make. I was thinking it would be all Laura Ingalls’ish and I would have to go to the ice house and dig a block out of the sawdust and lug it to the backyard and chip it up and then head to the Walnut Grove General Store for rock salt where I might run into Nellie and then Ma would worry what was taking so long  and Mary would go blind waiting for the ice cream to get made and  it just seemed like an enormous production and frankly I can just buy some Dreyers and call it a day.

But it turns out it is seriously one of the easiest things to do! Really.

You freeze the insert part for at least 8 hours.

2 cups of heavy cream

1 cup whole milk

3/4 cup white sugar

Mix & Match for endless flavor possibilities at this point in the game.

We used a teaspoon of pure peppermint extract and then some pink food color. Because let’s face it, food color is fun.

Mix it up in a separate bowl and pour it into the frozen insert part and turn it on.

And wait.

And fight and yell and push your sister off the chair. And complain about waiting until mom has to drink a glass of wine and the baby takes advantage of the situation by digging through the garbage and pushing all the buttons on the tv, thereby turning Elmo into a cacophony of wails and giggles.

I should have left it in the coat closet.

The ice cream maker. Not the baby.

During the interminable wait, we threw some chocolate chips and some of the new & improved thin mints into the food processor and then added them during the last 5 minutes.

The longest 25 minutes of my life later…….

EUREKA!

Don’t tell me I’ll never use my ice cream maker.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ben and Who???

  1. Missy and Rob says:

    we got an icecream maker perhaps at the first garage sale we went to after we got married. it sat in our cupboard for 4 years. love your pics!

  2. Sister Cindy says:

    We went to a xmas white elephant and my husband traded everything to get and “awesome Blossom” onion maker. Three years later, and unused, I regifted it at another xmas white elephant…C

  3. sue says:

    Bill & I got one for Christmas this year from my birthdad…not sure the reasoning…anywho…Bill loves it and he and the girls make it every so often… I made it once with the preschoolers and for the Super Bowl or was it New years???, i made Raspberry-Ritas in there!! It is easy….but the whole milk and full fat cream freaks me out! I would rather eat it out of a container that someone else makes and not read the label… ignorance is bliss!!!

  4. Pingback: Let them eat cake « Feels Like Time

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Bomb « Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

