Whole(y) Wheat Cookies Batman

I broke the wheat barrier.

Bought some whole wheat flour last week and decided to test it out. It is Gold Medal brand. Which seems not ‘crunchy’ enough. Know what I mean? I feel like I should have planted and threshed and ground the little wheat kernels myself and then stored it in a burlap sack next to my chicken coop.  That would make it authentic.

But I think it still counts.

WHAT?!?!

Must have used his bat radar to pickup the bat signal that cookies were being made.

And he wants to help.

Which will drive me batty.

Lord I hate bats.

My very first job was to answer phones at the Catholic Church where I went to Jr. High. The church office was in the rectory and that place was absolutely full of bats. It was fairly common to see one of the priests chasing the bats with his tennis racket.

There were also bats in the seed barn on the farm where we lived when I was little. A lot of them. That barn also had a telephone in it. My oldest brother used to call me from there and tell me he was the devil.

Back to the Cookies…

Batman has mad cookie skills.

Batman wears his mask into the bathroom too. Protects him from ‘smells’ he says.

Batmom cracks the eggs and creams all this stuff together.  Seems Batman has his limits.

Batman has walked off the job because he only likes ‘normal chocolate chip cookies’.

Why No, those are not raisins. You willl never see a mention of the dreaded raisin on this blog.

I hate them.

Talk about two ends of the grape spectrum…..

Wine

Raisins

Batman says they taste ‘weird’

Wish the Green Hornet would have shown up instead.

Cranberry White Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies (with whole wheat flour!)

1/2 cup butter softened

1/2 cup butter flavored shortening (My mom calls it ‘oleo’. Can anyone explain?)

1 cup packed light brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp pure vanilla

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (or regular if you are super lame)

1 tsp baking soda

lots of cinnamon (LOTS)

1/2 tsp-1 tsp of ground cloves

pinch of salt

3 cups rolled oats

1 cup dried cranberries (Not the music group from the 90’s…Zombie…Zombie…Zombie )

1 cup white chocolate chips (What the hay..through the whole bag in there)

Oven to 350

Cream butter, shortening, sugars, eggs & vanilla until smooth.

In a separate dish combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, & cloves.

Stir into sugar mixture. Add the oats raisins and chips.

Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 12-14 minutes. DO NOT overbake. (you’ll be sorry-trust me)

Let them sit on the cookie pan for a minute or two before removing them to a cooling pan. Otherwise they tear all to heck and you will have to curse in front of your kids.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whole(y) Wheat Cookies Batman

  1. sue says:

    I just bought the same flour! Haven’t tried it… You didnt’ say if they tasted any different. I wouldn’t think so…

  2. Sara Myers says:

    Oleic acid is a mono-unsaturated omega-9 fatty acid found in various animal and vegetable sources. It has the formula CH3(CH2)7CH=CH(CH2)7COOH.[2] The trans-isomer of oleic acid is called elaidic acid.

    The term Oleic means related to, or derived from, oil or olive.

    Charlie remembers during WWII that his mother would buy margarine which was white and it had a food coloring thing in it that you would squeez (while still enclosed in the plastic bag) and squish it around to mix it in so that it was yellow and looked like butter.

  3. Janice says:

    They did not taste different at all. I was surprised. I was kind of expecting them to.

  4. Sara Shine says:

    Seriously our sons are like the same person. Kaleb wears his batman mask everywhere!

Leave a Reply

