Let them eat cake

Don’t you just love cake that has a little liquor in it?

Of course it all bakes out, so no harm. (Unless you are swilling while baking)

This is one of my favorite cake recipes. Super adaptable. This particular time I made a lemon raspberry with cream cheese frosting.

You could do a chocolate cake (just change the pudding to chocolate and the liquor to kahlua or coffee flavor) You could do banana, regular yellow, etc.

I happened to have the limoncello on hand, so lemon it was. The limoncello was a gift from my boyfriend Charlie, who is married to my friend Sara, but still my boyfriend. I love him because whenever he would call Sara at the office and I would answer, he would call me ‘Janu, Janu’. Which I thought was charming. Plus he likes football. And he gave me limoncello. A match made in heaven.

Lemon Raspberry Bundt Cake

1 pkg lemon cake mix

1 3.9 oz lemon pudding (I used vanilla this time)

16 oz sour cream (you can use the reduced fat if you want)

3 eggs

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup lemon liquor

small package raspberry jello (could also use strawberry)

Mix everything together in a big bowl except the raspberry jello.

The batter will be very thick.

Spray the bejeezus out of the bundt pan before you add your batter. Not many things are worse than when only half your cake comes out of the pan.

I tried to google who invented the spatula. But I could only come up with who invented the flipping burger spatula. Not the scraping spatula. I am sure the year that the scraper spatula was invented was a sad year for children who like to lick the batter bowls. What a bummer. Interestingly enough, the other spatula was originally invented as a flyswatter.

Make sure your oven is at 350. (I really wanted an excuse to show off my cute tea holder)

I super love it.

Bake for at least an hour and test with a toothpick for doneness.

Take a straw and poke holes in the cake, but not all the way to the bottom.

Mix the jello with 1 cup of boiling water and then pour carefully over the cake. Try to get it in as many of the holes as possible. Like golf.

It is super tricky and I usually lose patience and just pour it all over the cake and then it leaks down the sides of the pan so you have to hurry and flip the cake onto a plate or else the jello gels and you will never get that cake out of the pan in one piece.

Holy run on sentence.

And it usually spills and looks like you got a bloody nose while baking the cake which is truly gross. (And did not happen while I was baking this cake)

You have to cool it for a couple hours before you frost it.

I am a big fan of cream cheese icing. The thicker the better. The recipe for that is so simple. Leave a stick of butter and an 8oz brick of cream cheese out at room temperature for a couple hours. Beat them together until creamy and then add 1 pound of powder sugar. This cake was a thank you gift, so I put it in a cake box and prettied it up.

Serve it with some  homemade ice cream and a little snort of limoncello on the side……..

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Let them eat cake

  1. Kimberly says:

    Hole-EE cow! What can I do for you to earn one of those as a thank you? I’ll be right over. ☺ How do you accomplish this sort of thing? Seriously.

  2. Sara Myers says:

    Your boyfriend is enjoying your blog and wants to know why I don’t make him stuff like this cake! Then I reminded him that since we’ve moved away from your cakes I have lost 12 pounds.

  3. sue says:

    Who do you keep in the urn I mean tea holder on your stove?

  4. Janice says:

    Kim-I will make you one any time!
    Sara-I miss my boyfriend!!!
    Sue-Wouldn’t you like to know……

  5. amy says:

    as a lucky recipient f one of these cakes may i just say OMG it was good!

  6. Sister Cindy says:

    Again, you have WAY too much time on your hands. Are my nieces and nephew tied up or what? C

Leave a Reply

