Special Brownies

Not that kind of special.

Really.

These are my own personal favorite super special delectably delicious brownies.

If you make them and bring them anywhere, you will be a brownie superstar.

For Real.

AND.

Guess what?? (Chicken Butt)  I totally got caught by the Girl Scouts outside the grocery store yesterday and they guilted me into buying 3 more boxes. I bought them because I told the lady behind the table my whole conspiracy theory about the thin mints and she completely agreed with me. That and who can resist a Girl Scout peddling her wares?

Not me.

Can’t resist the little old guy selling the poppies either.

Probably because of my past reign as Poppy Princess 1980.

That was a glorious time. I had a starched crocheted crown with poppies on it. I even had a sash.

I KNOW!! RIGHT??

I am totally finding my Poppy Princess picture to share with you guys so you can revel in the glory of it alongside me.

Back to brownie making…..

So, I totally stole this recipe from Paula Dean. (hence the two bowls of butter) I confess. Except I think mine are better, because I add more chocolate and I have  discovered two super secrets which are  imperative to the success of this recipe.

YOU MUST USE A GLASS PAN.

And.

DO NOT (under any circumstances) BAKE FOR LONGER THAN 45 MINUTES.

EVER.

In your first bowl you want to melt a stick of butter and then add a devils food cake mix and one egg and mix it until it resembles mud.

Pat it out in the glass pan and lay aside. Just so you know you will have a horrific time getting the butter-fabulous chocolate cake mix mess out from under your fingernails. Consider yourself warned.

You will have had a brick of cream cheese already out and to room temperature. You blend that with two eggs. It is lumpy and not appetizing looking. At all.  I will not tell you what it resembles. You can come to your own conclusions.

Add about 4 super heaping tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder and blend.

If you have kids they will want to taste it at this point. Even though you tell them it won’t taste good. Go ahead and let them. It is one of those life lessons everyone needs to learn. Baking chocolate does not taste good. Looks are deceiving. Don’t judge a book. And all that jazz.

They either learn it now, or with the bouillon cubes that although they may look like delightfully wrapped little pieces of candy, they are, in fact not.

Then you add a pound of powdered sugar and beat till smooth.

Melt your second stick of butter in a separate glass bowl and…….

Make some magic.

Beat until smooth and pour over the crust.

Bake it at 350.

45 MINUTES ONLY PEOPLE!!

45.

MINUTES.

Don’t second guess yourself. It will not look done or ‘set’ and you may be fooled into thinking it needs another 5 minutes.

IT DOES NOT.

I did not include a picture of what these look like cut, because they were for a friend who was taking them and it would have been kind of rude. So you cannot see that they have a creamy, almost like frosting on the top and then the brownie crust underneath. If you over bake, the creamy layer dries out. So. Don’t. Over. Bake.

Special Brownies

1 egg

1 stick melted butter

1 devils food cake mix

Mix together and pat into a well greased glass 9 x 13 pan.

8 oz cream cheese (room temperature)

2 eggs

Blend together

Add 4 heaping tablespoons of cocoa powder

Blend again

Add 1 lb powdered sugar

And blend

Melt another stick of butter and add it slowly. Cause it is hot.

Blend till smooth and pour over your crust.

Bake for as long as you want.

Just Kidding.

45 MINUTES ONLY.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Special Brownies

  1. Sara Shine says:

    I have a brownie recipe for you, you love it!

  2. Donna Lukens says:

    Great recipe – Sure was nice to “hear” your voice! I miss you. Hope all is well with you and your family.
    Love, Donna

  3. Pingback: Everybody’s Favorite Muffins « Feels Like Time

  4. Pingback: Come On Get Happy « Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

