Bleedin Armadilla Cupcakes

Don’t you just love that scene in Steel Magnolias (arguably THE best chick flick of all time) when Ouiser is cutting the armadillo cake in the carport and she gives Drum the hind end quarters and he says “Thanks Ouiser, Nothin like a good piece of  @%^#”

I do.

I LOVE Steel Magnolias. To this day I have never watched that movie without turning into a heaving, bawling, sobbing, snotty nose mess. Of course I wanted to be just like Shelby. And then I took the facebook quiz and got Ouiser.

Hmmmmm

So my two favorite movies and I dream of being Scarlett & Shelby and it turns out I am Belle Watling and Ouiser.

Not.

Fair.

I have been on an ‘All Things Southern’ kick lately. Which is strange, because I am from Northern Wisconsin. But I think I would have made a good southern belle. No pun intended.

At any rate, I decided it was time to try my hand at making one of the most southern desserts EVAH.

Red Velvet Cake.

But I made cupcakes. Which everyone always says is easier than cake and I personally think that is a big fat lie. Because the batter always drips everywehre other than into the little paper cups. And I never end up with as many cupcakes as they say. I am always short one or two. I should invent some kind of perfect cupcake batter dispenser.

Except whenever I get ideas for inventions. Someone always steals them.

Like this

The Kate Gosselin wig was MY idea.

Mine.

Like this recipe……

You are supposed to use dutch processed cocoa in this recipe. But of course I could only find a blend of dutch process and dark cocoa. So I went with that.

You have to let the buttermilk and eggs set out for about an hour until they reach room temperature.

I have to add that buttermilk skeeves me out. When I was in high school I waited tables at Country Kitchen and there was this weirdo kid who always came in with his family and drank a glass of buttermilk and it would leave this huge crusty buttermilk mustache and MAN did that give me the heebie jeebies.

But it is delicious in recipes.

Isn’t this a beautiful mess? Like a Picasso painting.

Food color seriously fascinates me.

Amazing

Beautiful

Then you add your dry ingredients.

And it turns a chocolatey red color.

Next time I am just making the big cake. Because cupcakes, while cute, are rather a pain.

They didn’t turn out as red as I would have liked. Next time I will use the whole ounce of food color.

I won’t go into the drama of making the frosting. The recipe I tried just about gave me fits because it would not properly set. Next time I will probably use cream cheese icing instead of the whipped buttercream. The cupcakes themselves were amazing. Quite velvety actually. Must have been the buttermilk. But I still would heave if I ever had to drink a glass. And now I have more than half a carton in my fridge that I will have to find some way to use up.  I could call that kid from Country Kitchen I suppose.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons dutch processed cocoa powder
  • 1  cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cup buttermilk, room temperature
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons red food coloring
  • 1 teaspoon white distilled vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2 (12-cup) muffin pans with cupcake papers.

In a medium mixing bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder. In a large bowl gently beat together the oil, buttermilk, eggs, food coloring, vinegar, and vanilla with a handheld electric mixer. Add the sifted dry ingredients to the wet and mix until smooth and thoroughly combined.

Divide the batter evenly among the cupcake tins about 2/3 filled. Bake in oven for about 20 to 22 minutes, turning the pans once, half way through. Test the cupcakes with a toothpick for doneness. Remove from oven and cool completely before frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting

1 stick butter (room temperature)

1 stick cream cheese (room temperature)

1lb powdered sugar

Beat the cream cheese & the butter until smooth and creamy. Add the powdered sugar and beat until well mixed.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bleedin Armadilla Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: I don’t drown my sorrows; I suffocate them with chocolate chip cookies. « Feels Like Time

  2. Sister Cindy says:

    Ick. I hate bit o honeys too. C

  3. sue says:

    Seriously? You want credit for the Kate Gosselin wig? Why would anyone want one?

    Don’t be ashamed if you came out a Belle. She was way cool, especially for the time and she had more fun, way, way more fun than any of the women back then.

    Just sayin.

Leave a Reply

