I don’t drown my sorrows; I suffocate them with chocolate chip cookies.

And jellybeans.

And Peeps.

And ice cream.

And snickers bars.

These will perk up your Monday!

Although I believe Mondays get kind of a bad rap.

They’re not so bad. I mean, most paid holidays fall on Monday.

Monday Night Football is good.

Lots of great songs about Monday. (Mamas & Papas anyone??)

I am sure everyone hates me now so I will commence with my chocolate chip cookie post.

I love cookies.  According to wiki, the first historic record of cookies was their use as test cakes. A small amount of  batter was baked to test oven temperature.

Makes perfect sense. Because I also love cake.

And frosting.

And See’s soft center candies.

And Circus Peanuts. (the orange chewy marshmallow kind)

But not Bit O’ Honeys.

Ew.

Kinda looks like a face.  Would have been more fun with food color, like the red velvet cupcakes.

If you are not going to use the whole bag of chips in a recipe, you might as well not make them at all. This is not the place to save a few calories people.

And make them monstrously big. Because then you can say very demurely that you only had one cookie and were satisfied. (Except I ate 3 right out of the chute. 4 if you count the dough prior to baking)

Parchment paper keeps them from sticking to the pan and then wrinkling up like a little old man when you try to take them off with the spatula. You should also leave them on the pan for a minute or two after you take them out of the oven. This helps them set and avoid the previously mentioned wrinkly-ness.

BIG FAT CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

2 cups all-purpose flour (whole wheat works great in this recipe)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2 cups Whole bag of semisweet chocolate chips

Oven t0 325 and line your cookie sheet with parchment if you have it.

Sift your dry ingredients together and set aside (not the chips-although they are technically considered ‘dry’)

In a medium bowl, cream together the melted butter, brown sugar and white sugar until well blended. Beat in the vanilla, egg, and egg yolk until light and creamy. Mix in the sifted ingredients until just blended. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand using a wooden spoon. Drop cookie dough 1/4 cup at a time onto the prepared cookie sheets. Cookies should be about 3 inches apart.

Bake for 15 to 17 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the edges are lightly toasted. Cool on baking sheets for a few minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I don’t drown my sorrows; I suffocate them with chocolate chip cookies.

  1. sue says:

    How are you NOT 500 lbs???!! If I baked as much and as well as you I would be HUGE 🙂 And I just don’t even pretend I’m making cookies to drown my sorrows….or cure PMS..I just make & eat the dough!!!

  2. sue says:

    OMG…now there is ANOTHER sue and she is funny too. This is too much.

    Do you lay in bed, thinking of suffocating your sorrows instead of drowning them or are you just crazy funny?

    I have to go do something productive, but I will be back for more.

Leave a Reply

