Your feet might leave home, but your heart never does.

Got my tickets for Wisconsin last week. Every summer I take the kids home for a month to my hometown of Ashland, just about the best hometown there ever was.

We go there and do things that are impossible to do here in the summer (like be outside). We go to spend time with relatives and long time friends (notice I did not say ‘old’) We go so the kids can get some sort of idea what it is like to live in the heart of the midwest, in a small town where people work hard and are good neighbors. A town where everyone looks forward to the Dairy Queen opening in spring and supports the high school football team. It is the sort of town that you can never imagine, unless you have been there. It warms my heart and feeds my soul.

This is the oredock. The town landmark for which the high school team is named. Yep, the Oredockers.

There used to be several more, but this is the last remaining. I take walks down here very single day during the summer. It used to be a great place to go parking…..(except the time I got the old blue chevrolet stuck in the snow and basically backed it into the lake)

We mostly hunt butterflies here now.

Lake Superior.

Big.

Cold.

That is why the kids are in the water and I am on the beach taking pictures.

I am clearly homesick for Wisconsin today. I will share some more tomorrow. I have to go look at my airline tickets again……

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Your feet might leave home, but your heart never does.

  1. Jennifer says:

    🙂 I LOVE that you get to go “home” for a month every summer! That is so awesome, Janice!

    You are only like 3 hours away from me… 😉 Maybe we could meet up in Duluth or maybe Blaine and I can come visit you in Ashland and eat at Country Kitchen (we don’t like to drink glasses of buttermilk, so no crusty staches from us! Promise!) Or we could eat somewhere else–you probably know more exciting places than Country Kitchen.

    But I’m serious! I’d love to meet up with you, if it works out!!

    Let me know what dates you’re looking at. Summer is a crazy time at camp, but we can make it work!

  2. Pingback: THE Best Thrift Store Trip Ever « Feels Like Time

  3. HeidiAnn says:

    Hi – I just discovered your blog this morning and I totally love it! I have just been sitting here reading and reading and reading instead of doing other things that need to be done! Oh, well. But I was so excited when I got to this post and read that Ashland is your hometown! Because I have actually BEEN there! My aunt and uncle and one of my cousins live there, and we were able to make the trip from California 9 years ago – almost exactly. Don’t know if/when I will be able to afford to make the trip again, but we had SUCH a wonderful time – they took us all over. You do indeed have a wonderful hometown, and I will continue to read and thoroughly enjoy your blog! I LOVE the recipes, and I think you are hilarious. Thank you for writing such an entertaining blog!

Leave a Reply

