More on hometowns

Hometowns have the best parades!

Ever.

We always are home for 4th of July. We lug my moms old school 1974 lawn chairs to my cousins restaurant and park it. My kids adore it. We cheer on the school bands and the local business floats. Grocery bags are needed for the amount of candy thrown. July 4th 2009 topped them all for Max. One of the floats was trying to throw a large bag of candy from the truck in front to the float people on the back and missed, causing the bag to fall in the street. Every kid on the sidewalk was poised to run when the float got out of the way.

The whole side of the street cheered! He beat out kids 3 times his size. Clearly he gets his candy love from me!

The fire truck hoses down all the kids.

If you tried this here in July, the water would evaporate or boil before it hit the ground.

This guy has been in every 4th of July parade I can remember.

After the parade we head to my cousins and eat.

Patriotism at it’s finest.

Cool off for a bit and then head back into town around 9:30  for the fire run.

Oh how I love the fire run. All the emergency vehicles drive down main street with their sirens and horns blaring. You can probably hear them from Henderson.

Even the tow trucks get in on the action. Gabby plugs her ears while Max screams & cheers like a maniac. (Baby is soundly sleeping at Grandmas)

Then it is a mad dash down to the lakeshore for the fireworks. There is nothing like watching fireworks over Lake Superior.

Nothing.

Take that Sydney Opera House!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More on hometowns

  1. Gary LaPean says:

    Neat blog Janice (actually all Goldsmiths in Ashland are given the name “Goldie”, I will honor your first name wish).
    My daughter Lori a former Cheerleading partner of yours (you a junior and Lori a senior) from Ashland High School, now living in Chicago directed me to your interesting and light hearted blog. In searching the net she came accross your blog and noticed the page on your families visit home to Ashland July 2010 in which you focused on the annual 4th of July parade. It was fun to read and see in pictures that your children also found joy in this special summer event in Ashland.

    Your caption under the picture of the tall clown on stilts warmed my heart, because you see “this guy” happens to be me. The stilted clown thing has been a hobby of mine for over 43 years of 4th of July Parades in Ashland. Now at 68, God willing I hope to do it a couple more years making 70 years old my last walk.

    Thanks for brightening my day and always keep the joy you provide to many with your fun blog.

    GL
    Ashland, WI

Leave a Reply

