Better an ounce of luck than a pound of gold (or cake as the case may be….)

There is a reason this is called Pound Cake and not the 30 Day Shred Cake.

Several reasons, actually.

1. You will gain a pound by just looking at this cake

2. The recipe contains more than a pound of sugar and flour (and butter if you count the frosting-which I don’t)

3. You could pound someone to death with it, it is so heavy.

4. You have to pound the heck out of the pan to get it out in one piece

And on an on and on.

I forgot to get a picture of the whole cake because I had to frost it in the morning (finally mastered the tricky buttercream recipe) to take to work. It was for my boss’ birthday. He is older than me and that makes me happy. It is always good to be younger than your boss. If I am ever older than a boss it will be a sad day for me. I will feel super old. No offense to my current boss, who is not super old or anything (just older than me). I also will be sad when I am older than the president. I don’t know why. I just will.

At any rate, this recipe calls for 6 eggs.  Six. S-I-X!

Holy chicken farms.

At least I was able to use up some of the skeevy buttermilk.

A little secret ingredient action for ya……

Of course you have to keep your dry ingredients separate, because it is some kind of baking law.

And I super sneakily switched half the flour for whole wheat. And didn’t tell anyone until after they ate it and they had no idea.

HAH

Maybe the brandy masks the taste of the whole wheat flour?

You could also sub lemon liqueur for the lemon extract and add a tablespoon of rum if you have it (ours was gone…..hmmmm….)

It’s a very bossy an dramatic recipe. You can only add the eggs ONE at a time and then blend before you add another egg.

RESIST the temptation to throw them all in at once!

RESIST

Pour yourself a glass of wine and make a whole Zen experience out of adding them.

I know it looks like a big glass. But remember there are SIX eggs.

One.

At.

A.

Time.

More drama, as you must alternate adding the buttermilk and the dry ingredients.

Takes awhile. Better pour some more wine.

Then you need a tube pan. Which I was not sure I had. So I had to google tube pan. And then I realized they could have just called it an angel food cake pan. Because I have one of those.

And then you have to bake it FOREVER.

Or 75 minutes, whichever comes first.

And apparently it really doesn’t matter how much you grease the tube pan. Because I sprayed the heck out of this and it still stuck and I had to cut it into thirds to get it out.

Which annoyed me to no end.

I must have pounded this pan for about 10 minutes trying to get the cake out. Frustrated me so much that I had to eat two pieces of this cake to get even.

Two pieces about this size……….

I will post the frosting recipe tomorrow.

Because it is seriously the hardest & trickiest (creamiest, delicious-ist) recipe ever.

And you have had enough drama for today.

BUTTERMILK POUND CAKE

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter
  • 3 cups white sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon lemon extract
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon apricot brandy
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).

Grease one 9 or 10 inch tube (a.k.a. Angel Food Cake) pan. Mix together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside

In a large bowl, beat butter with sugar.

Pour yourself some wine

Mix in the eggs, one at time, beating well after each addition. Stir in the lemon and the vanilla extracts and the brandy.

Don’t forget the brandy.

Gently mix in flour mixture alternately with the buttermilk. Pour batter into the prepared ANGEL FOOD CAKE pan.

Bake in preheated oven for 75-80 minutes. Do not open oven door until after one hour. When cake begins to pull away from the side of the pan it is done. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack (good luck) and cool completely.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Better an ounce of luck than a pound of gold (or cake as the case may be….)

  1. Kimberly says:

    Your house must always smell so yummy!

  2. Sister Cindy says:

    I stepped on the Wii and gained a pound. And I only looked at the receipe…..C

  3. Pingback: A Monday Miracle « Feels Like Time

  4. Pingback: Eggstra! Eggstra! Read All About It! « Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

