A Monday Miracle

You know how they always say ‘this dessert was so chocolatey, I only needed a small sliver to satisfy my craving’.

And I can never relate to that. I have never had a small sliver of anything ever that satisfied my sweet tooth. I am always in awe of people who say, ‘this is delicious, but too rich and I can’t finish it’ and then they leave half their dessert on the plate. That is as foreign to me as being able to reach items off the high shelf at the grocery store.

I just could not fathom.

Until yesterday…..

And this is how it all began.

My friend Connie was having a birthday and she can’t have gluten. So since I think it would be a crime, a pure travesty if you will, to not have cake on your birthday, I decided to make a gluten free cake.  I searched for a recipe and adjusted a few things. Got up at 5am to make the cake as it had to sit in the refrigerator overnight or 8 hours and I could not make it the night before, because Mr. Right had taken the camera to Monster Jam. I did not go to Monster Jam. Because I am not a Monster Jam kind of girl.

Sorry.

You will want to use 16 oz. of BITTERSWEET chocolate and only 2 oz. of unsweetened. It is important to use the bittersweet because the recipe does not call for much sugar. Break it up into pieces and melt it two minutes at a time in your microwave at 50% power. Don’t ever microwave chocolate at full power in your microwave. Bad. Stir in between and keep melting until smooth and beautiful.

Once your chocolate resembles the river in Willy Wonka, cut your butter into pieces and beat it into the chocolate 1-2 pieces at a time.

The butter does not have to be room temperature because it will melt right into the chocolate river.

While this has all been going on, you will have combined your sugar and water into a saucepan and cooked over medium heat until the sugar dissolves.

Blend your sugar water into your chocolate/butter mixture and then add the eggs one at a time. All six of them. Just like the pound cake recipe. Except that it was 5:30 in the morning, so I skipped the whole glass of wine & zen experience.

You really want to use a springform pan for this one. It just makes it so much easier to get out of the pan.

And it wouldn’t hurt at all to cut some parchment paper to line the bottom of the pan. On a related note, don’t ever ever ever substitute wax paper for parchment paper in a baking recipe. Duh, right? Yeah, well we won’t go there.

Even with the parchment paper, you will still want to spray the heck out of the sides of the pan. And wrap the bottom with tinfoil for good measure because you have to bake it in a water bath and I am always paranoid about water baths. A hint about water baths: Put the larger pan of water into the oven before you preheat it because it prevents you sloshing water everywhere on your trek to the oven from the counter and also pre-heats the water.

Bake it at 300 for 45-50 minutes. It will still look ‘wet’ when you remove it, but don’t worry because you are going to put it straight into the refrigerator for the next 8 hours.

It was Connie’s idea to use the doily and make a powder sugar design. You could just sprinkle with powder sugar, because who really has doilies laying around besides Connie? And now me. Because she gave me an extra for my next cake….

You will be a supreme superstar. Unbelievable. And you do only need a tiny sliver! I did not however leave any on my plate and claim I ‘just couldn’t finish it’. But I had no desire to cut a second piece.

And that my friends is a miracle of epic proportions.

I am thinking of making another one for Easter. Because, well,  now I have that doily and everything.

FLOURLESS CHOCOLATE CAKE

1/2 cup water

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup white sugar

16 oz bittersweet chocolate

2 oz unsweetened chocolate

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter

6 eggs

Oven to 350 and put a pan with about an inch of water in the bottom into the oven while it preheats. Make sure the pan is larger than your cake pan. I used a 10 inch springform.

In a small saucepan combine sugar and water and cook over medium heat until sugar dissolves.

Break the chocolate into smaller pieces and melt at 50% power in your microwave, stirring every 2 minutes until smooth.

Pour chocolate into bowl with electric mixer if you have one. I used my hand beater and it turned out just fine.

Cut the butter into pieces and beat into the chocolate 1-2 pieces at a time. Beat in the sugar water. Add eggs and beat in slowly one at a time.

Pour batter into pan. You can wrap extra tinfoil around the bottom of your pan to ensure no leaks from the water bath. Set the cake pan into the water bath carefully and bake for 45-50 minutes.

Chill overnight.

Be amazed.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Monday Miracle

  1. Pingback: Eggstra! Eggstra! Read All About It! « Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

