Eggstra! Eggstra! Read All About It!

Sorry.

I had to use the cheesy egg pun in the title. I love it. It eggcites me.

Really, I’m done.

So I saw this idea on the internet a few months ago and sadly I cannot recall where exactly I saw it, because I would like to give that person credit for the super cuteness of these little candles.

You will need some egg cups. I got mine off of ebay, but you could probably find them at a kitchen store. I know Pottery Barn sells them, but it is Pottery Barn so they are probably $100 apiece.  You are  better off getting some cute vintage ones from ebay.

You will need an egg dye kit and as many raw eggs as you have egg cups and maybe one or two extra eggs. Just in case.

It was all rather serendipitous, because I have six egg cups and there were six colors in the dye kit. Admittedly, I felt rather bad about wasting 6 good eggs when I could have used them for this or this or even made a really big omelet or something. Poor planning on my part. Plus I was trying to be sneaky because I didn’t want any ‘help’ from my kids. And if I am honest. I would just once like to dye a couple of Easter Eggs by myself. But I still feel bad about wasting 6 eggs.

7  if you count this one.  Hope my tinfoil saving, ziploc bag washing, child of the depression Mom never finds out.

Dry them far apart so the colors don’t bleed onto each other.

Raw eggs dye just as well as hard boiled. I discovered this last year when the kids were fighting to the death about the last egg to color. Seriously, they were like the Sharks & the Jets, all West Side Story rumbling over that last egg. And once we discovered that the raw ones worked just fine, we dyed every egg in the refrigerator.

You have to let them dry completely, all the while hoping that your kids don’t come downstairs and unmask you as the treacherous traitor that you are.

Then you hold the egg over the sink and whack the skinny top part of the egg with a knife and then pop the top off. Rinse it with a little water inside (not too much or it will run the dye) and then you kind of break it (by picking at it gently) to where you would like it. I wanted to use an exacto knife to shape the shell like a perfect crack, but exacto knives are not all that easy to find anymore. Insert your tea light and voila. Except that first you have to trim the tea light. I bought a really cheap pack of tea lights at the grocery store and they were a cinch to trim.

Probably not the safest candles in the world, but definitely among the cutest.

The perfect Easter centerpiece.

Incidentally, it is no easy task to capture a picture of a flame.

And they all lived happily ever after.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eggstra! Eggstra! Read All About It!

  1. Vicky says:

    Janice… I love them! What a super cute idea:)

  2. Jess says:

    I am loving those eggs!

Leave a Reply

