Lovely Lemon Bars

Lemon bars make me happy.

They are yellow (my favorite color), tangy sweet, creamy, dainty, little powdered sugar covered bars of happiness.

I am on a quest to be happy 85% of my days. Because you know the whole ‘into every life some rain must fall’ thing so I figure 85% is a pretty good goal.

As long as I am pimple free, happiness is a pretty easy goal to achieve. Especially with delightful little lemon bars. These are a perfect dessert for Easter because of their yellow springy freshness.

I wish that I could grow a lemon tree in my yard. Wouldn’t that be stupendous? I would invite you guys over every day for lemon bars and fresh lemonade.

First you make the crust, which has powdered sugar in it. Be still my heart. I LOVE powdered sugar.

Love.

It.

This is the guts of the lemon bar. You want to make this just before you take the crust out of the oven, because you want to pour it over a hot crust, not a lukewarm one.

This is what my mom calls  ‘the mouse corner’.  She is notorious for taking her cakes to various church potlucks and funerals with a corner missing and when someone asks what happened she says ‘Must have been the mouse’. In her limited defense, it is a good thing to test your baked goods before serving them. If you go the route of the mouse corner, get rid of the evidence by cutting all the bars and putting on a plate.

Because in my house, the ‘mouse corner’ frequently turns into the ‘mouse row’ and sometimes even the ‘mouse half of the pan’.

Lovely Lemon Bars

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup confectioners’ sugar for decoration

Set your oven to 375

Combine flour, powdered sugar (YUM) and butter together and pat it into a greased 9 x 13 pan.

Bake for 20 minutes in the preheated oven, until slightly golden. While the crust is baking, whisk together eggs, white sugar, flour, and lemon juice until frothy. I love the word frothy. Frothy Frothiness is what you are looking for here. Pour this lemon mixture over the hot crust.

Stick it back in the oven for another 20-25 minutes until the edges turn golden brown.

Let cool completely before cutting and smothering with more powder sugar.

It is best not to wear anything black when you are working with powdered sugar.

Just Sayin……..

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lovely Lemon Bars

  1. Sister Cindy says:

    I like lemon bars. Mr Right was Right again. I really like Dunkin Donut Coffee. We finally got some out here in the stores.

Leave a Reply

