Absolutely Meatballs

These contain a super secret ingredient. You would never guess it in 100 million billion years.

Unless you are one of my sisters.

Do you see it?

Sub these for your breadcrumbs and you will have the softest, moistest meatballs ever.

It was my dads secret ingredient.

But not anymore.

Raw meat is right up there with buttermik on my list of skeevy kitchen ingredients. Ground beef is do-able, but there is nothing and I mean nothing as skeevy as a whole chicken.

OH.

It gives me anxiety attacks. I have to put on potholder mitts to handle it because I can’t bear to directly touch it’s cold clammy chicken skin. It is like having a little headless horseman body in the sink. Do you remember the Little House on the Prairie episode when Laura & Mary went to soap Nellie Olson’s windows and saw the headless horseman? And they screamed and ran home and Pa protected them. That is how I feel about a whole raw chicken. I want to call Pa to come deal with it.

Except it wouldn’t work. You know, the whole pioneer and no phone thing.

But let’s all admit right now that the young Michael Landon Pa was a hottie.

And Little Joe from Bonanza.

And I would be perfectly happy to have either of them in my kitchen with the headless horseman chicken.

I much prefer working with meatballs.

You just brown them a little before you put them into your sauce. Don’t go all crazy and cook the life out of them or they will be dry little rock-like meatballs instead of moist delectable little bites of joy. You absolutely must cook them in your spaghetti sauce for best results.

Ask Pa if you don’t believe me.

BEST Meatballs EVAH

1 lb or so of ground beef

1 onion (chop the life out of it so you don’t have big chunks of onion in your meatballs-gross)

1 egg

salt (to taste)

fresh ground pepper (to taste)

5 cloves of garlic (chop it up small)

1/2 to 3/4 cup of the super secret ingredient

1 tsp dried basil (more if you super love basil like me. If you crush up basil–it smells a little like black jellybeans-BONUS)

(When you add dry herbs, you should crush them with your fingertips to release more flavor)

Mix everything together (Ignore the feel of ground beef on your hands)

Make into meatballs of your size choice.

Brown them lightly (Very lightly) to help them hold their shape and then finish them off by simmering in your sauce for 45 minutes to an hour.

Eat as many as you can.

Unzip your pants and eat some more.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Absolutely Meatballs

  1. Kimberly says:

    That is where I go wrong- cooking the meatballs entirely before adding sauce. ERG Thanks for the tip. Meatballs are one food that all 3 of my girls like. Gotta try these! BTW: Have you ever seen the Friends episode where Chandler Bing hates the raw Thanksgiving turkey, so Monica puts it on her head and dances around?

  2. Janice says:

    LOVE that Friends episode. But I would never (and I mean NEVER) put a raw turkey on my head. Ever. The end.
    Ever.

  3. Sister Cindy says:

    Ask Sista Kathy Bea about raw chicken and Brother Barn. She’ll remember. Cindy

  4. Sara Myers says:

    Charlie wants to know how long to cook them in the sauce – like he doesn’t think I know, the answer has to come from Janu.

  5. Pingback: Hittin The Sauce « Feels Like Time

  6. Pingback: Finger Licken Chicken « Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

