What A Lush

Not what you were thinking.

At.

All.

I am still pining away for a lemon tree in the backyard. Does anyone have a successful lemon tree here in Vegas?

Oh who am I kidding. I cannot even get my Easter Lily to bloom.

This dessert probably wouldn’t work as well at say, Thanksgiving time. Because Lemon Lush does not exactly scream Thanksgiving dessert like Caramel Apple Cheesecake does, but you are in luck.

Because it is Spring and then it will be summer, so you can rock this dessert for at least the next 4-5 months.

Look at my happy jar full of lemons. This is an old depression glass biscuit jar that has moved around with me for the last 20 odd years. I believed for a long time that it was a family heirloom and had belonged to my beloved Grandma Bea. Grandma Bea was the best cook and biggest Packer Fan you would ever meet.

Anywhere.

Ever.

So imagine my surprise the last time my mom was here for a visit and I was waxing nostalgic about Grandma Bea’s biscuit jar and she says where did I get that crazy idea (ummm, from you mom) because it did not belong to Grandma Bea at all. Ever. It is actually an old jar that she pulled out of a demolished shed on an old piece of property we used to own. Talk about a bubble burst.

I still love it though. The lemons in it are actually fake. (like the story about it belonging to Grandma Bea)

But the Lemon Lush is made with delicious real lemons and a little bit of Limoncello, which the original recipe did not call for, but I was like ‘Hey–where is the booze in this Lush recipe?’ So I cut out 1/2 cup of milk and added the Limoncello.

This picture is step one. You have to make a shortbread crust and bake it for 25 minutes and then let it cool.

Then you blend up some room temperature cream cheese with white sugar to make the first layer of creamy goodness.

Then you make a lovely layer out of lemon pudding mix, milk and lemon liquer if you have some.

Except that I had company and was drinking wine (like a true lush) while making this dessert and I forgot to take any more pictures.

Sorry.

Right before you serve it you smother the top with a layer of cool whip.

I love cool whip.

We had it for one of the desserts at Easter dinner. Except this picture I took right before posting this. So of course I had to eat it.

And then I ate a piece of Key Lime Pie too, because nothing goes together like lemon and lime.

Lemon Lush

2 cups flour

2 sticks butter (softened)

2 8 oz bricks of cream cheese (room temperature)

1 cup white sugar

juice of 1-2 lemons

2 3.4 oz packages of lemon pudding mix

3 1/2 cups milk

OR

3 cups milk

1/2 cup lemon liquer

Cool Whip to finish it off.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and in a medium bowl combine flour and butter until it forms a ball. You could use a fork or pastry cutter, but I use my (clean) hands. Press crust into bottom of 9 x 13 pan and bake for 25 minutes

Cool crust completely.

Beat cream cheese and sugar together and spread over curst

Whisk milk/liquer, lemon juice and pudding mix for 3-5 minutes until it starts to get thick and then spread over the cream cheese layer.

Chill until set and then add the cool whip for the final layer.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What A Lush

  1. Vicky says:

    That does look amazing and I totally feel you on the whole, “parents telling you false stories and the forgetting they told you” syndrome:)

  2. Linda L. says:

    It is lunch time and now I am craving lusious lemon bars.
    Beautiful and delicious food.
    You have a fantastic blog.

Leave a Reply

