You Gotta Fight (Nah Nah) For Your Right (Nah Nah)……

Love me some Beastie Boys. Their first hit, released in 1986, my junior year of high school, Fight for your right to PARTAY, was played at every single high school dance from then on.

EXCEPT.

The 1986 Valentines Day Dance where I was broken up with.

At the dance.

Thereby setting into motion a modern day curse of which you have not seen the likes.

Ever.

I call it the Valentines Day curse.

And it has affected every Valentines Day since.

It was worse than the treacherous traitor break up of 2009. Can’t talk about it anymore. Maybe I will recount the entire tale to you next Valentines Day. Kind of like a scary ghost story on Halloween.

Why all the Beastie Boys party song dance talk you ask?

I am participating in this major, other worldy, totally out there, ridiculously fabulous thing called The Ultimate Blog Party 2010. There are thousands of crazy bloggers joining in. There are super prizes too. Hundreds of them. And you can totally win some too!

So I pretty much plan to stay up all night reading blogs and drinking wine.

My kind of party.

Hoping no one will break up with me during it.

So if this is your first time visiting my blog, WELCOME!

Welcome, Welcome Welcome!!

I hope I have not scared you off with the whole Beastie Boys, Treacherous Traitor, Valentines Day curse thing.

Because I am really pretty fun.

I wish you could come to a real live party at my house and drink Sangria and eat things like this:

And this:

And I would regale you with funny stories and outrageous lies anecdotes about my life. Like the time I kissed the band member of the Outfield in the parking lot of the Duluth Arena. Or the time I touched Rick Springfield’s leg. (I KNOW!) Or even the time I saw Mario Lopez (a.k.a. AC Slater) at the Hard Rock Hotel!

I might even share the totally sad and scary story ofย  the whole Valentines Day curse thing including the eventual redemption of my ego 20 years later (they all come back girls, they all come back).

We would not exercise or watch the news or eat coffee flavored jelly bellies.

Fun I tell you!

FUN.

So come back and visit me this week. I will be posting some great recipes, like Kickin’ย  Chicken, Key Lime Pie and Sangria Sangria!

Hope to see you again!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to You Gotta Fight (Nah Nah) For Your Right (Nah Nah)……

  1. claire says:

    Happy UBP! I’m glad I stopped in & cant wait to read a long! I was 2, when your awful V-Day happened..but years later it passed the curse to me too..
    My first kiss, at my first (v-day) school dance… he was…. well.. I’ve never really had a fabulous valentines day..ever… Except maybe when I WAS 2 years old..
    Hm.. this is all opening new doors & I feel the need for therapy coming on…
    I’m glad I found you! =)

  2. I’m looking forward to those recipes! Love your Blog. Found you through UBP and wanted to say thanks for offering a prize!

  3. Linda L. says:

    Great party entry! Almost forgot that totally cool song!
    Beautiful blog with very cute children.
    Party on!!!

  4. So glad I stopped by from the UBP! Those goodies look yuuuuummy! I will definitely be coming back for the Kickin’Chicken, Key Lime Pie recipes. Delish!

    Also, love the picture in your banner. So pretty and peaceful. Did you take the photo?

    Would love if you grabbed a glass of sangria and stopped by my blog!

    Happy partying!!

  5. ontheroadlesstraveled says:

    oh, school dances. such drama. my senior prom was on my 19th bday. my boyfriend and i broke up the week before, but still decided to go together anyway. i had a party afterwards and early in the night i walked into my bedroom to find my exbf and best friend making out on MY bed! i, of course, flipped out and kicked everyone out of my house. can you blame me? thank the lord it was my last school dance!

    UBP drop in here and LOVING your style… you’ve officially been bookmarked in my blog folder!

    happy friday to you!

  6. Pattie says:

    Love all the pictures here! I’m entering your UBP Starbucks drawing, since I’m a caffeine-addict ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Dayngr says:

    Tasty!

    Hi! This is my first time visiting. I surfed in from 5 Minutes for Mom. Looking forward to getting to reading more as we go. If you’d like to read it, my Ultimate Blog Party 2010 post can be found at Dayngrous Discourse. I hope you’ll surf on over and say hello.

  8. This post made me giggle out loud. I think it was even funnier that Love Bites by Def Leppard was playing here on my iphone. I’m a child of the 80’s as well. And I love that you drank wine and read posts all night – too funny! Happy party day, girl! Here’s to a great weekend!

  9. ’86 was my senior year of high school, and while Babe was always the last dance of the night, Beastie Boys always kicked it off.

    I left my first husband on Valentine’s day, sounds like a horrible way to celebrate the holiday, but not so much really.

    Love your blog, and will definitely be back again.

    #UBP10

  10. Pingback: Holy Stomache Bugs Batman « Feels Like Time

  11. yay, Beastie Boys! And wine? What party could be better! I’ve added you to my reader.

  12. Deana Birks says:

    Coffee flavored jelly beans? Who knew there was such a thing? Of course, my dad once gave me licorice flavored gum as a child; that was quite the shock, let me tell ya. I think everyone should have a story about a curse; if you haven’t been cursed you haven’t been living life to its fullest. Now I’m going to be singing that song all day and it’s going to drive my kids insane. Great meeting you; hope you’re enjoying the UBP.

  13. mrs. e says:

    Oh, I would sooooo be at your house for the stories—and the wine!

  14. charmtime says:

    I stopped by from UBP and it’s great to see you are having fun!

  15. diane taylor says:

    having fun with the ubp? i know i am wolfbayou@yahoo.com

  16. Yeah! Gotta love the Beastie Boys! And wine! And what a horrible thing to break up with a girl at a Valentine’s Dance! I don;t blame you for being scarred for life! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. niki says:

    Hello, Iโ€™m here for the party!

    My name is Niki and I am your newest reader. I look forward to reading on to get to know you better.

    Come on by and visit me during the party; Iโ€™m hosting a giveaway you wonโ€™t want to miss!

    http://free2befrugal.blogspot.com/2010/04/ultimate-blog-party-10.html

  18. kaylen says:

    That was the best Beastie Boys song!
    Happy Blog Party!!

    Nice to meet you – I’ll be back another day. ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Miss Angie says:

    Hi there! This is so fun, I’m stopping by for the party to have some of your Sangria and nibble on some of those awesome goodies. If it were a real party, I’d totally be bringing some to share too! ๐Ÿ™‚

    If you’d like to party with me, you can do so here.

    Thanks for having me over, I adore your little blog! You’re pretty funny!

  20. Kristin says:

    HAPPY UBP! And, I am so glad to find another blogger who graduated the same year I did. Love the song choice.

    Come belly up to the bar at my party here and check out my giveaway here.

  21. Still Blonde says:

    I just wanted to say Hi! I’ve never been to your blog before but I like your colors. But what I really like is your Valentine story. You are very funny. I even subscribed to your feed (without having to enter a contest! HAHA)

    I am visiting all the people from the Ultimate BLog party that are on the “Not Family Friendly list!” Come and visit Still blonde after all these Years at http://www.stillblondeafteralltheseyears.com . We are giving away some awesome frames from Ceiva valued at $248 in celebration of the Ultimate Blog Party!

    Also, at the Blog Party Prize Page, I am giving away a prize. A $450 Foot and Calf massager! Read about it here on my blog: http://www.stillblondeafteralltheseyears.com/2010/04/450-human-touch-foot-and-calf-massager.html.

    Feels like time, please come visit and talk about your blog, either at my blog or my facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/stillblondeafteralltheseyears

  22. happy UBP 2010. i cant wait for the sangria recipe. feel free to drop by my blog and leave me a comment.

    i’ll be back for the recipes. i cant comment on the v-day stuff as i know that there is a guy named herman who may have been in therapy for a minute after my less than nice response to his valentine’s day declaration of love.

    sorry herman…

  23. Just stopping by from the UBP at Five Minutes for Mom. You have a great site. I would love it if you visited my blog and left me a comment! I’m looking forward to reading more and getting to know you better.

    Cascia
    The Healthy Moms
    http://www.thehealthymoms.net/2010/04/welcome-to-healthy-moms-blog-party.html

  24. Jess says:

    Speechless.
    I am in awe.

    I never got to kiss anyone in the parking lot … well, nobody worth mentioning. But I did moon an entire band once. Granted, they were only The Monkeys, but they had it coming.

    I am so following you, and I promise to keep the behind covered.

  25. sstrader says:

    OK – I have to comment here.
    I am behind but quickly catching up.

    I read that you touched Rick Springfield’s leg – well, I’m going to his concert in May. LOL. Maybe I’ll get more than his leg?

    http://www.justaddwine.wordpress.com

  26. Hey Winner!
    You need these numbers to complete the prize form on the prize page – http://www.5minutesformom.com/ultimate-blog-party-2010-prizes/

    usc 2
    1247 Janice

Leave a Reply

