Sundays are for pie

Well okay.

Any day is for pie. But since today is Sunday this fits.

I am over the nasty stomach bug. And as with all clouds, there was a silver lining. I lost 3 pounds and got to skip the 30 day shred workouts two days in a row! Why is it that when women get the stomach bug and spend multiple hours running between bed & the restroom, that the first thing we do when we feel better is cross our fingers and jump on the scale? And the next thing we do is tell everyone how much we lost!

Don’t act all mature & pretend you don’t do it.

Liar.

I made this Key Lime pie for Easter and everyone said it was the best  Key Lime pie they ever had. So I got all dramatic and pretended it was a super complicated, need a masters degree in culinary-ness (it’s a word!) feat of walloping greatness to make it.

I lied.

Fibbed.

Altered the truth

Bore false witness.

Liar Liar Pants On Fire.

It truly couldn’t be much easier.

The guts only have 3 ingredients:

Sweetened condensed milk, sour cream and a lot of key lime juice.

Use a garlic press to squeeze the juice out of these little suckers. You will need a 1 lb bag of key limes for 1 pie. I skipped the lime zest part because I have no zesting skills.

At all.

You could be totally sloth-like lazy and buy a pre-made graham cracker crust, but a home made will taste so much better.  So go the distance and make your own.

1 1/2 cups of graham cracker crumbs, 1/3 cup sugar and 6 tablespoons of melted butter. Mix it all up and press in your pie pan. You can prebake it at 375 for 7-8 minutes.

You could be super fancy and add some cinnamon to your graham crust. Or Cardamom. What a fun spice that is! You could also mix it up and use vanilla wafers or gingersnap crumbs instead of graham crackers.

You can top it with whip cream if you like (I don’t), and if you got skillz, some zest.

Best Key Lime Pie You’ve EVAH had

9 inch (preferably home made) graham cracker crust

3 cans of sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup of sour cream

3/4 cup key lime juice (I use all the juice from a 1 lb bag)

1 Tablespoon grated lime zest (good luck)

Set your oven to 350

Combine condensed milk, lime juice, sour cream and zest. Mix well and pour into prepared crust.

Bake in preheated oven for 5-8 minutes until tiny pinhole bubbles burst on surface of pie.

DO NOT
DO NOT
DO NOT BROWN.

Chill thoroughly before serving. Garnish with whipped cream and lime slices if you want. I prefer it without whip cream (like you care).

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sundays are for pie

  1. Wendy says:

    I was fortunate (SP??) enough to have eaten this pie at Easter, and I must say that this was by far the VERY BEST Key-lime pie I have EVAH had!!!!!!! YUMM-O!!!!! Thanks Janice!! xoxo

  2. You are a woman I could definitely be friends with, what with being a liar and a lazy cook and all. Love your blog!

  3. Pingback: THE Best Thrift Store Trip Ever « Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

