Finger Lickin Chicken

I know it does not even look like chicken because it is covered in the most diabolically delectable sauce on the planet.

I got the recipe from The Tasty Kitchen website and it is called butter chicken over there, but I can’t figure out why because it only has about 6 tablespoons of butter, and everyone knows if a recipe wants to have butter in the title, it should contain a cup of butter minimum. I would have named it 5 C Chicken or something because 5 of the ingredients start with the letter C. Cardamom, Cayenne Pepper, Coriander, Cumin and Cilantro. But they didn’t ask me.

Despite the deceptive name and small amount (IMO) of  butter, it is good.

Mr. Right has a code word for stuff he likes. And it involves a swear word. So if you are easily offended, skip ahead. And get over yourself.

Anytime there is something he really likes he assigns it the prefix Good Ass. In this case Good Ass Sauce. Or for short (pronounce each letter individually) G-A-S.

“Hey, How’s the Sauce?”

“GAS, Honey, GAS”

Huh–Spells gas. Just noticed that

GAT (tomatoes) GAG (garlic) GAO (onion)

You get the picture.

This prefix can also apply to inanimate objects, like if your hair looks really good GAH. Or you are wearing a pair of pants with extra room in them GAP.

Which, after eating this chicken and a generous serving of angel hair pasta, you probably will lose the extra pants room.

Ok. For some reason, touching raw chicken breasts does not skeeve me out like the whole raw chicken in the sink a la’  headless horseman does.

I can totally handle it. No need for raw meat therapy when the boneless skinless beauties are involved.

This is the rub for the chicken. You want to marinate it in this for at least a few hours, all day if you can swing it.

NOT Parkay.

Crap. Forgot to put the onions in first. I had to pick all the chicken out and then saute the onions. I might have been drinking wine while cooking again.

I am chicken challenged and can never get a good brown on my chicken. I probably should have increased the heat, but I didn’t want to burn my butter. So I mumbled and cursed a bit (under my breath, nothing bad) and flipped the chicken from side to side and then gave up because the sauce is going to cover it all up anyways.

Then you add your tomato sauce and diced tomatoes.

And then.

The heavy cream.

DO NOT try to be health conscious and use half and half or whole milk.

DO NOT.

Just Don’t.

Instead, make friends with the heavy cream and accept it the way it is.

And dig out your stretchy pants.

Five C Chicken

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

5 cloves minced garlic

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1/4 tsp ground coriander

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp cardamom

juice of 1 lime

1 small onion diced small

1/4 cup butter

1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes

1 (14.5 oz) can tomato sauce

1 pint heavy cream

1 bunch chopped cilantro

Combine first 9 ingredients and marinate at least 4 hours.

Saute the onion in the butter until soft. Add marinated chicken and cook about 5 minutes per side or until you get a nice brown. Add the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes. Cook for 30 minutes over medium-low heat with the lid on. Add the whipping cream and stir it up and then add the cilantro just before serving over your angel hair. It would also be good over rice.


About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finger Lickin Chicken

  1. Kristin says:

    Sounds delish! And I like your hubby’s description!

  2. stickeechix says:

    Kinda like a good Italian “pink” sauce, no? Gotta try that. But now I have to buy new spices.
    If you don’t want to burn your butter, put a little olive oil in the pan first. Brings the smoke point down.
    Hey, post that cilantro dip recipe sometime, will ya??

  3. Janice says:

    Ooooh-Yeah Forgot about the Cilantro Dip. GAD!!!

  4. Sara Myers says:

    Try patting the chicken very dry before browning and try not to keep turning it. If that doesn’t work, a very light dusting of flour will give you a crispy brown.

Leave a Reply

