THE Best Thrift Store Trip Ever

Ok.

Someone old must have died and his/her heirs donated all the cool stuff to Savers. I will take this opportunity to again remind you guys not to let Mr. Right donate all my treasures in  case of my unfortunate demise. Cause I would haunt you if you let him get rid of this….

The good old Ice O Matic, circa 1970.

Doesn’t it look like something you would win on Let’s Make A Deal?

Which by the way is arguably the best game show EVAH. Can’t you just see this on a table by Monty Hall while you try to decide whether or not to trade for what’s under the box and then you keep the Ice O Matic and inside is an envelope with 500 dollars? And then later in the show you get picked to go for the Big Deal Of The Day and you can trade away your Ice O Matic for whatever is behind Door number 3? Oh the suspense would kill me I think. I mean you could totally end up with a room full of top of the line Frigidaire appliances in avacado green or a goat. And all the while you are wearing a hillbilly costume. What a genius game show. Pure genius.

I still watch this when I am visiting my mom in the summer. After the kids are in bed I like to pour a glass of wine and settle in for the long haul with mom & Monty. And I think how I would’ve killed it as a contestant. Like didn’t these contestants watch the show before they went on it? HELLLLLOOOO…Monty always picked the scantily dressed girls. And even if you didn’t get to be a contestant you still had to be prepared. I would have brought a huge purse full of crap so that when old Monty hollered  ‘I have $100 for the first person who can give me a golf ball’, I could have jumped up and down and squealed like the nincompoop that I am.

It totally still works!

More milk glass from the good old Brody Glass Company in Cleveland Ohio.

Nancy Freakin Drew!!!

I am absolutely reading one of these tonight. Maybe two. I read faster now then I did when I was 10 years old. Look out Ned Nickerson.  Here. I. Come.

Ok.

Who did not want to date Ned Nickerson when they were younger?

A beautiful vintage glass tray from award winning designer Georges Briard. He was pretty famous in the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s.

A vintage Juice O Mat!!

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

After I squeezed all those stupid key limes with a garlic press?!?!?!

Pretty little Douglas Fir pitcher thing.

Will probably use it for sangria.

Hand blown glass vases. I looked them up and they retail for $54 each.

Gabby says they look like peppermints. I think she is right, so I will probably use them at Christmas time.

This one tricked me.

I totally thought I found one of the Hamilton Beach drink masters from the 1940’s. I mean there was all this other old stuff floating around, so this had to be vintage too right?

Except it is not. My first clue should have been that it was suspiciously light considering the Juice O Mat weighed about 42 pounds. Had I turned it over and seen the ‘Made in Mexico’ stamp I probably would have figured it out, but I was on such a vintage high that I just buried it in my cart before someone could snatch it. The originals sell for $150-$200 on ebay so I was literally hopping around the store like Rumpelstiltskin. As soon as I got home I poured myself a celebratory Blue Moon and did a little research and deduced that you can buy this particular model on Amazon for about $30.

Doesn’t it look happy in it’s new spot? Still a deal at $9 and it will save me the frustration of Mr. Right making his protein drinks in the big blender and then not putting it away.

Oh, but that’s not all.

The next items made my heart stop.

Stutter.

Skip a beat.

Wait for it.

Wait for it.

Wait for it……

Green Bay Packer team ashtrays from Sneezer’s Snack Shop!

Sneezer’s was a team hangout back in the days of Vince Lombardi. They used to hold team meetings there and Vince could be heard chewing the players up one side and down the other. I wonder what Vince would have to say about the treacherous traitor of the North……

This is the 1959 team. And BONUS, Sneezer’s was on Ashland Ave!

This is the 1960 team. They were division champions that year.

I wish that I could have seen my face when I found these. The first one was on the middle shelf and then, sensing a thrift store cluster, I looked around for more and the next one was down one shelf. Then I hightailed it to the men’s section hoping and praying to find a Paul Hornung or Curly Lambeau or Bart Starr jersey, but the only thing I saw was an old Vikings jersey from Dante Culpepper and you can be sure I did not buy that.

A perfect thrift store day.

And tomorrow?

Tomorrow I am making donuts!!

Look out world!

I am linking up with Sandy over at Reluctant Entertainer where there are a bunch of us sharing about bargains and treasures. Stop by!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Thrift Store Finds, Uncategorized, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to THE Best Thrift Store Trip Ever

  1. Sara says:

    oh my goodness..I thought my Hubs was the only one who made his protein shake in the big one and didnt put it away…actually I put it away away so he wouldnt go through all the trouble to ge tit out…I knew he wouldnt, but he uses the alcoholic beverage drink shaker now….ugh!!! what do to what do to with that man.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I totally have that hamilton beach drink malt maker or whatever it’s called. I love it! 🙂 My mom got it for me a while back for my “someday you’re going to move out of my house, so here’s some stuff” stash.

    Congrats on your thrifting! You would find some nasty GBP ashtrays! hahaha

  3. sue says:

    I want to shop with you!!!!!!

  4. Oh , Happy Dance I love finding fun stuff and all at one time even better. Thank you for sharing!!

  5. Tara G. says:

    I liked Nancy Drew- I think I read the one with the horse on the cover! I grew up in WI, but I am not a GB fan. At all. Blame that on my 4th grade PE teacher.

  6. lisa says:

    OH! I love the mixer vintage or not. I love the color.

  7. You make me laugh out loud! Loved this, love your blog! Fun stuff! Can’t wait to read more.

  8. Sandy says:

    I think the green milkshake maker is my fave!

    I grew up with one like that (was my Grandmas).

    Thanks for linking up today at RE!

  9. Pingback: The Great Lemon Heist of 2010 « Feels Like Time

  10. Pingback: Vintage Goodness « Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

