Contrast

So most of you know I super love Wisconsin, the greatest state in the nation and home to my beloved Green Bay Packers. I was feeling a little guilty for my adopted home town where I have lived for the past 16 years, which in this town, pretty much makes you a native.  Although I love Wisconsin and there is truly nothing like Lake Superior…..

I also have to say that there are not many things prettier than spring in the desert.

This is a park that I take walks in. It is about half a mile from my house and it has these desert demonstration gardens with amazing flowers. We have had a lot of rain (for us) and cooler temps this spring so far, which is bad bad bad for allergies, but good good good for flowers.

Very purply.

These are chocolate flowers. They seriously smell like chocolate. It is like Willy Wonka himself came to town and planted these beauties. I wanted to taste one, but of course not knowing the ins & outs of poisonous flora & fauna in the desert, I restrained myself.

This is one of the little paths through the gardens. The whole park is filled with chipmunks and rabbits. There is this guy who goes there every morning and brings a bag of chopped frozen fruit or produce and he whistles at the fence and I am telling you there is a stampede of rabbits and chipmunks that come running to him. I have never seen so many chipmunks. It can kind of creep you out.

He is like Snow White with the woodland creatures.

More pinky purple goodness.

Yellow is my favorite color ever.

Dig my shadow.

And I like those long spiky pinky orange things too. They are taller than me. Hard to believe, I know.

You won’t find one of these in the northwoods of Wisconsin.

You won’t find a freeway overpass there either. I try to ignore it.

Beaver Tail Cactus

Once when I was in second grade, there was a dead beaver on the side of the road and my dad (who is probably the biggest scaredy cat ever) after I begged and begged went and cut the tail off of it and I brought to school in a paper bag for show and tell. True story.

My poor second grade teacher.

These are my favorites!

The Strawberry Hedgehog.

How cute is that name?

I had to keep my distance because the bees like these too. If you look close, you can see one buzzing around the middle flower that is still closed.

We also raised bees when I was little. But I never took them for show & tell.

These look like buttercups from back home.

They’re not.

I stopped to see a weeping willow, crying on his pillow, maybe he’s crying for me….

Except it is not a willow and I am not Patsy Cline. But I sing that song in my head whenever I pass these whatever they are trees.

That is my beloved Black Mountain. My house is directly across the road from it.

I think there might be snakes on Black Mountain, so I keep my distance.

I like these little fluffies too.

I took a million pictures. I am sure all the people in the park were thinking I was Ansel Adams or Annie Leibovitz or something.

Not.

This is the little park directly next to my house.

It has a lot of these things which kind of remind me of the snowball bushes in Wisconsin.

But I wish they were lilacs. Because I think these are responsible for my annoying allergy related junk that all desert people eventually fall prey too and lilacs never made me have sore throats or made me want to scratch my eyes out.

Although you won’t see a lot of this here…..

The sky is just as blue.

It’s like Madonna says.

“Beauty’s where you find it”

Vogue

Vogue

Vogue

Vogue

Vogue

I am linking up with Sandy over at Reluctant Entertainer. Stop by and visit our flowerfest!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Musings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Contrast

  1. Kristin says:

    What gorgeous pictures!

  2. Carol Sue Eklund says:

    Great photographic essay! Very nice pictures. I, too, love the purply flowers (Texas Sage), even though I’m terribly allergic to them. We had to pull out all 16 of the ones that surrounded our house, because every time the bloom, I am in pain. So I love seeing them around town!

  3. Barbara says:

    I did not know there were mountains in Wisconsin……learned something new and thanks for your comment.
    Kindest regards,
    b†
    madreminutes.blogspot.com
    @madreminutes

  4. What beautiful pciteures! I love the faux buttercups – we have real buttercups growing all over the roadside. I just love them.

  5. How lovely! I know you must love to take walks in that beautiful park.

  6. Kirstin says:

    I love all the pictures. How beautiful. That top flower I think is my favorite. It is so unique

  7. Sandy says:

    Wow, in Wisconsin? Love it – love the wide openness, too.

    Thank you so much for linking up at RE today!

  8. lisa says:

    Beautiful! It is still rainy herre in Oregon, so It is nice to see that others are enjoying the sun!

  9. Holly Herick says:

    I appreciate all these photos. I grew up in Scottsdale. My parent still live there. Dessert beauty is an acquired taste for many and I love it.

Leave a Reply

