The Great Lemon Heist of 2010

I had my lovely friend Jackie over for dinner the other night. Jackie is a missionary in the Dominican Republic so I only get to see her about once a year. We used to work together. I nicknamed her Jackson Browne. She’s got to be somebody’s baby.

Speaking of babies, Jackie is having TWO! Twin girls should be here next month. Congrats to Jackie & her husband Alan!

Okay.

On to the heist.

I was making Jackie ‘Creamy Lemon Chicken’ for dinner, with strawberry ice cream for dessert. So Jackie arrives and we are chatting madly, because we have not been able to talk in forever and I was having a glass of red wine which makes me super chatty.

I get my chicken all ready to go. You don’t want your breasts to be too thick. This is one of those times when smaller is better. Like when you want to wear a tank top with minimal support.

And we are chatty chat chatting and then Jackie asks if I am going to blog the recipe and I think ‘heck yeah I better’. So I go to arrange all my ingredients and guess what?

The lemon is gone.

Now I know that you can see 2 lemons in the first picture. They are fakes. Because I am looking everywhere and I cannot find my lemon. I know that I left a lemon on the counter that morning and it just happened to be my last lemon. I left it on the counter because they are easier to juice when at room temperature.

It.

Was.

Gone.

Jackie helpfully points out that I have a whole jar of lemons.

Fakes.

Imposters.

Posers.

WHO TOOK MY LEMON?

Prime Suspect.

Because he is a lemon sucker.

But he denied it. Gabby was at school and the baby can’t reach the counter, so that narrows it down to Mr. Right.

And I am mad.

Like my hair is standing on end so mad. I will interject here that Mr. Right was on super thin ice that day because earlier that morning I had discovered that he had broken the spinny thing on the dishwasher which I have nagged warned him time & time again that if the spinny thing is stuck on tall dishes, you cannot yank and yank on the drawer to get it free because guess what? YOU MIGHT BREAK THE SPINNY THING! He was also in hot water for not replacing the butter in the butter dish so I had cold butter first thing in the morning and everyone knows how cold butter tears apart toast. Now he moved my lemon too?

Strike three.

And I have poor starving, pregnant with twins Jackie waiting for me to make her the lemon chicken. And of course Mr. Right (wisely) does not answer his cell phone so I can ask him where in the heck he put my lemon and why was he touching it anyways?!?!

I call my neighbor Casey. Because I live in a neighborhood where you can still count on your neighbors to lend you a stick of butter or an egg or a couple of lemons.

And by divine intervention she was at the grocery store and agreed to bring me back some lemons.

But I am still wondering where is my lemon and who really did take it. And I investigate around some more. Because remember that I got all those Nancy Drew books at the thrift store last week and I have been reading them and brushing up on my sleuthing skills. And I come across what I like to call (and perhaps this should have been the title of my post) ‘The Clue In the Refrigerator’.

And I say to Jackie that apparently Mr. Right is a big lemon water drinker now.

In 10 years together, I have never seen him put a slice of lemon in a glass of water much less concoct a whole pitcher of it.

So I solved the mystery. And I did it with no help from Bess or George or even Ned Nickerson.

Still can’t get a decent brown on the chicken. One of my BFF’s Lora said I am crowding the chicken. Will have to give them some space next time and see if that works. No more little chicken mosh pits.

This is what wine & butter & chicken broth & lemon juice looks like.

Then you add some heavy cream.

Sorry for the lack of photos. The talking and laughing and stress of the missing lemons distracted me.

All’s well that ends well.

On the bright side I did get to play Nancy Drew girl detective.

And fantasize about Ned Nickerson a little bit.

Because he is perfectly dreamy.

He would never take my lemon.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

4 chicken breasts (smaller & not too thick)

salt to taste

fresh ground pepper to taste

4 Tblsp flour

5 Tblsp butter

1 cup white wine (remember to use a wine you would actually drink-don’t be using the Boones Farm just to cook with)

3/4 cup chicken broth

1-2 lemons (Hide them until you are ready to use them)

3/4 cup heavy cream (DO NOT USE half & half)

Chopped fresh parsley or cilantro


Heat 2 tablespoons butter and 2 tablespoons of oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Fry two of the chicken breasts at one time until golden brown on both sides, about 3 minutes on each side depending on the thickness. Remove to a plate, then add the other 2 tablespoons each of butter and olive oil. Fry the other two breasts until golden. Make sure the butter doesn’t burn!

After removing the chicken, have the heat on medium to medium-low. Pour in wine and chicken broth, and squeeze in the juice of 1-2 lemons. Whisk the sauce, scraping the bottom of the pan. Allow sauce to cook  until reduced by about half. Sprinkle in a little salt and pepper as it’s cooking.

Reduce heat to low and pour in cream. Whisk together and allow to cook for a couple of minute until sauce thickens. Taste and adjust seasonings or other ingredients. I only use the juice of 1 lemon. If you use 2, make sure you taste the sauce as you are cooking. If it is too tangy, add some more cream and tweak in to your liking. Sprinkle in some chopped parsley or cilantro (I adore cilantro) and stir.

Add the chicken back in and let it cook for another 10-15 minutes

Serve over angel hair pasta

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Great Lemon Heist of 2010

  1. Missy says:

    Love your recipes… You(of course), Jackie and her twinsies! and I’ll put some extra lemons just for mr t in his package that rob is sending with a particular purple jersey!

  2. Pingback: Peachy Keen……NOT! « Feels Like Time

  3. Pingback: Fastest Thrift Share Ever « Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

