Coughing Up Crazy Cake

Man.

I cannot quit coughing. Allergy season bites. I am thinking of calling Ripleys or Guinness (the record book, not the beer maker) to see how long a person has to continually cough to be a contender for the world record.

Cough drops are a giant ponzi scheme scam.

I promise I did not cough into the cake.

This cake is called Crazy Cake and is also known as Wacky Cake. It became popular in the Great Depression, because there is no butter or eggs in it. Butter & eggs were in short supply in the depression. My mom was a child of the GD. Judging by her thrifty skills, there was also ziploc bag rationing. And cool whip container rationing. And keeping every scrap of paper that has ever entered the house rationing.

Completely Rational.

I think it is the reaction of vinegar & baking soda that makes the cake light and fluffy.

Epic reaction.

Kind of like the Brady Bunch episode where Peter builds the model volcano and then it spews all over the Booster Club, ruining Marcia’s chances forever of being a Booster.

Peeeeter.

This is the sugar & the cocoa powder swirled together. Kind of looks like when the snow melts in Wisconsin and the dirt starts to poke through the snow.

And then you whisk it together. I can never get it super smooth without those little lumps.

Ok.

This is a whole new take on the whole ‘separating of the wet & dry ingredients’ rule of baking.

The vinegar & vanilla go in one hole, the water in one  and the oil in the other.

More water than hole.

Whisk it up.

I use the Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder. It makes for a much richer cake.

And dark chocolate is super healthy.

And it goes well with red wine.

The recipe amounts I am listing are for a 9 x 13 cake. It is dangerous to have an entire 9 x 13 cake lying around my kitchen, so I halved the recipe and baked it in a 9 x 9.

And my pants still fit.

Whew.

Oh look.

There is the butter dish in the background.

Let’s check and see if Mr. Right used it all and didn’t replace it.

Shocking.

I took this tray to one of my friends who just had a baby.

I figured her pants didn’t fit her yet anyways, so no harm no foul.

Ok.

Peace out people.

There is a cup of tea and a giant bag of rip off, no good, ne’er do well, ponzi scheme, good for nothing Cherry Hall’s calling my name.

Crazy Cake (a.k.a Wacky Cake)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

3 cups all-purpose flour

2 cups white sugar

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

3/4 cup vegetable oil

2 tablespoons distilled white vinegar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups cold water

Whisk flour, sugar, salt, soda, and cocoa together into a bowl. You could also skip the bowl and mix directly in an ungreased cake pan, but I have an unnatural fear of ungreased cake pans. Make three wells. Pour oil into one well, vinegar into second, and vanilla into third well. Pour cold water over all, and stir well with fork.

Bake at for 30 to 40 minutes, or until tooth pick inserted comes out clean. Frost with your favorite icing.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coughing Up Crazy Cake

  1. Kristin says:

    I’d heard of this cake but have never seen the recipe. Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

