Going Bananas

I have to catch you guys up on the crazy weekend.

I have been baking and baking and yes baking some more since Saturday and I have more today and the rest of the week. We are hosting the district conference at work and I thought it would be fun to bake all the desserts. It always sounds like a good idea to volunteer to do stuff like that when the event is months away!

So far I have made about 250 chocolate chip cookie bars and about 140 sugar cookie bars. Today will be spent on Seven Layer bars (One of my favorite things ever!) and then some Oatmeal butterscotch bars for tomorrow. Will finish up with lemon bars on Wednesday. Or Thursday. Can’t remember.

I did manage to sneak in a quick Savers trip on Friday.

These were a nice little find for 75 cents each. I have been seeing a lot of milk glass there lately.

I suspected there would be more Nancy Drew floating around. Didn’t have time to read any. No love for Ned this week.

This piece of pottery was made by an artist from Utah.

After the Savers trip it was on to Costco to buy all the baking ingredients for Bakefest 2010.

Saturday was baking day. Sorry that I did not take any pictures.  I baked all day. My house smelled amazing. You could probably smell it from wherever you are.

I needed something easy for Mother’s Day dessert.

No way could I look at another chocolate chip anything.

Plus I ate about 2 dozen chocolate chip bars and at least 3 pounds of raw dough.

Yes my pants are tight.

Banana Pudding seemed like the most perfect Mother’s Day dessert ever.

How can anyone not smile at a large pile of  Nilla Wafers?

Hello healthiness!

In a minute I am going to smother you with a cream cheese/pudding/sweetened condensed milk blanket and destroy any healthy dreams you might have.

Look at my blender action shot!

Right after this was taken the kids began to fight and I forgot all about taking any more pictures until it was half eaten.

As you can tell from the scrape mark evidence on the plate, this was my third second piece.

You guys.

This.

Was.

Good.

And that is all I have time for today friends.

Because I have to go and grind up 756 pounds of graham cracker crumbs for the Seven Layer bars.

Banana Pudding

1/2 of a box of Nilla Wafers (go ahead and buy the store brand!)

4-5 nice ripe (but not black) bananas

1 brick of cream cheese (room temperature–very important)

1 can of sweetened condensed milk

1 5oz box of vanilla pudding (DON’T sub banana flavor–you want to be subtle here)

3 cups of milk (use skim and save your self a couple of sit ups)

1 8oz tub of cool whip (again–store brand will work fine)

Layer your wafers in the bottom of a 9 x 13 dish. Don’t be skimpy with them.

Slice your bananas and layer over the top of the wafers.

Beat the cream cheese with an electric mixer until it is fluffy. This is why it is important for the cream cheese to be at room temperature. You do not want nasty lumps of cream cheese in your pudding.

Beat in the sweetened condensed milk.

Add the pudding, milk and a splash of vanilla if you feel like it.

Beat that all up and then fold in half of the whipped topping.

Spread this over your wafer/banana layers.

Spread the remaining cool whip on top.

You could pretty it up by crushing some more wafers and then sprinkling them on the top if you are an over achieving vessel of energy.

The end.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking, Thrift Store Finds, Uncategorized, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going Bananas

  1. Kristin says:

    OMG, you are totally my heroine. I have been looking for a good banana pudding recipe.

Leave a Reply

