Abracadabra

Abra Abracadabra

I want to reach out and grab ya.

These are the Magic Bars that inspired that song from the Steve Miller Band.

Serious.

Or not.

At any rate, If I had super song writing abilities I would write a song about these bars.

Maybe something along the lines of this:

Butterscotch and chocolate chips, Melts my heart and delights my lips.

Coconut so shreddy and sweet, graham cracker crumbs, so petite.

Mixed all up with sweet canned milk.

Slides into your tummy like perfect pure silk.

Nothing has ever felt so right.

Sadly, you make my pants too tight.

Lord help me.

These are my favoritest things ever.

Ever.

Ever.

You start by melting a stick of butter in your oven.

Once it is perfectly melted, you sprinkle graham cracker crumbs over the butter.

Pat the crumbs into the butter.

Here is the trick to getting the sweetened condensed milk to come out easily. Heat it up in a pan of water for a few minutes.

I thought I would get all smart and spread it around. It didn’t work exactly as I had planned. Just drizzle about 1/3 of the can across the graham cracker crumbs.

Look at that. I just want to roll around in it.

This is one of the only times I am a fan of coconut.

Drizzle the rest of the milk over the top of the coconut. And then you top with a little more of the fluffy white shredded stuff. Also this is the point where you spray the bejeezus out of the sides of the pan with some Pam or something. Because sweetened condensed milk can rival cement in a contest of hard things to remove from a cake pan.

In 30-35 minutes you will experience a whole new level of love.

Love like you have never known.

Like Romeo & Juliet.

Samson & Delilah.

Marcia Brady & Davey Jones.

Marcia Brady & her dentist.

Marcia Brady & Greg Brady.

Really.

They had a thing.

Read the book “Growing Up Brady”

I think they made out in Hawaii or the Grand Canyon or somewhere.

Magic Bars (a.k.a. 7 Layer Bars)

1 stick butter

1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs

1 cup chocolate chips

1 cup butterscotch chips

1 cup chopped nuts (I never add nuts–just increase the chips to 1 1/2 cups)

1 1/3 cup coconut

1 can of sweetened condensed milk

Set your oven to 350 degrees  and melt the stick of butter in the cake pan. It is best to use a metal cake pan with this recipe.

While the butter is melting, warm your sweetened condensed milk in a pan of water on the stove for 2-3 minutes.

Layer your graham crumbs over the melted butter.

Drizzle 1/3 of the can of milk over the graham crumbs.

Add your chips and nuts. Make sure to distribute them equally.

Layer the coconut over the top.

Drizzle the rest of the can of milk over the coconut.

Top with another 1/3 cup of coconut.

Spray the sides with food release spray.

Bake 30 minutes and check to see if they need another few minutes. You want the coconut lightly toasted.

Let them cool for about 1/2 an hour.

Cut them up and fall in love.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking, Musings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Abracadabra

  1. Kelly says:

    I love Magic Bars. I add crushed unsalted peanuts on top and they are super tasty.

Leave a Reply

