Sugar & Spice

I am not a huge fan of sugar cookies.

Except.

Snickerdoodles.

I could eat the heck out of snickerdoodles.

And what a happy four syllable name for a cookie!

Snickerdoodle

Snickerdoodle

Snickerdoodle

You all counted out the syllables on your hand didn’t you?

If you are also a snickerdoodle fan, you are probably thinking that these look nothing like snickerdoodles. And you are absolutely correct. My laziness supercedes my love of snickerdoodles, it seems. Plus I had to make about 200 of these and I did not want to, like, get a hand cramp or anything from rolling out balls of dough. I came up with a sugar cookie bar recipe and adapted it to snickerdoodleness. (5 syllables!)

Butter and sugar. Pure loveliness.

Add your eggs.

Pure as the driven snow.

I usually ditch the spoon at this point and just mix by hand. I feel hand mixed cookies are the best. That would be washed hand mixed cookies, in case you ate one of these and were worried about my personal hygiene.

If we were going the tedious and truly trying route of actually making cut out cookies for Christmas, this would be the point where you throw the dough in the fridge before you roll it out and cut it into various shapes and then let your kids have at it. Cut out cookies bring my frustration to a new wine drinking level. Especially when my kids are involved. You could certainly frost and decorate these bar cookies as well. Save yourself from the screaming, crying, the legs fell off my santa cookie stress. You will still have to deal with colored frosting and sweeping sprinkles off your floor well into March. Sprinkles are almost as bad as pine needles and moon sand.

The path of least resistance. My favorite path.

Ignore old H.G. Wells who says “The path of least resistance is the path of the loser”.

I hate H.G.

Really load the top with cinnamon & sugar. If you think it is too much, add some more.

Don’t over bake these!

Pull them out as soon as the edges start to look done.

You want them to be soft and chewy and delightful, not dried out and crusty edged.

There is nothing sadder than when someone gives you a plate full of Christmas cookies with those paper thin, brown edged, dried out, dejected, legless frosted Santas.

Don’t be that person this Christmas!

SUGAR COOKIE BARS

1 stick of butter (room temperature)

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla (Use the pure stuff folks. Step away from the imitation extract.)

2 1/2 cups of flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing after each egg. Add vanilla & mix well.

In a separate bowl combine flour, salt & soda & stir with a whisk to combine. Add to wet mixture and mix just until combined.

Go ahead, use your hands.

Grease up a 9 x 13 pan and spread out the dough.

At this point, you can decide to top with cinnamon & sugar and be done with it or leave them plain for frosting.

If you go with the cinnamon sugar, mix it up ahead of time and don’t be stingy!

Bake for 10-15 min, until light golden brown or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Cool completely and frost.

Or not.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sugar & Spice

  1. Sandy says:

    We love Snicker Doodles in our home!

    Never thought of the bars!

    Yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

