Rat-A-Tat-Tat-Touille

Hello healthiness!

Isn’t that a beautiful pile of veggies? I figured I would let you guys know that it is not always sugar and butter going on around here. Plus I started weight watchers and stupid 30 day shred again after a break. I was going to take a week off and it somehow turned into a month before I even knew what had happened. Pants were not tight, but not as loose as they had been, so I had to reign it in with the sweets.

I saw a recipe for ratatouille in a magazine and thought it would be fun to make with the kids and watch the Ratatouille movie. Of course they all disappeared and I thankfully was able to make it alone in my quiet kitchen with a glass of wine by my side and some classic country music on the stereo.

I super super super love Patsy Cline.

I’mmmmm Craaaaaazy.

Crazy for feeling so lonely………

Crazy for feeling so blue……

Eggplants look like they would weigh 5 pounds or so, but they are surprisingly light.

And cheap!

99 cents at Trader Joes.

I was trying to cut it up fast before Mr. Right came home and saw it was an eggplant. He insists he doesn’t like eggplant. He has never actually eaten eggplant, so I am not sure how he is so ding dang sure of his dislike for it.

It got a little hairy because I realized I was missing my favorite baking dish and I didn’t have another one large enough so I had to borrow one from my neighbor Casey and run super fast across the street because at any moment Mr. Right might come home and figure out what was going on.(Run on sentence, in case you didn’t notice)

Got it in the pan just in time. The recipe calls for sliced onions to be layered in the dish and not sauteed, but I am not a huge fan of big crunchy onion slices, so I threw mine in the food processor with the garlic and then sauteed it with the eggplant.

While that is cooking, you can slice up your other veggies. I should have used 3 tomatoes. I love tomatoes as much as I love Patsy Cline.

The eggplant is going to be the first layer in the dish. Then you salt it and sprinkle it with freshly grated parmesan cheese. Except that I couldn’t find my cheese grater anywhere and so I had to call Casey again and borrow her cheese grater too. And I totally know that it is Mr. Right’s fault that the cheese grater is missing.

I just know it.

When Casey comes over with the cheese grater, she has the brilliant idea of telling Mr. Right that the eggplant is teryiaki chicken.

Look how pretty!

I had to layer it fast before my secret was discovered. After each layer, you sprinkle some salt and more parmesan.

I also threw in some of fresh basil.

Because I love basil!

It seems there is a bug or something that also loves my basil! What the heck? This did not happen last year. Last year it grew like a weed. How do I trap these basil eating bugs?

I probably should have sprinkled the basil on after cooking, because it got kind of brown in the oven.

Bake it for 45 minutes. You will have a healthy smelling house!

I thought it was totally totally totally delicious.

Mr. Right took one bite.

One.

Which he promptly spit into the garbage and accused me of putting mushrooms in it. And I hate mushrooms. In 9 years of marriage I have never added a mushroom (or a raisin) to anything I have ever made. In fact, the recipe had actually called for mushrooms, but I left them out and substituted yellow squash. Because unlike eggplant, I know that Mr. Right has in fact eaten a mushroom and does not like them either. And now here I was being falsely accused of adding mushrooms.

So to protect my innocence, I had to tell him the mushroom he had just spit out was actually eggplant.

And then he said some unkind things about my Ratatouille.

Things I will not repeat here.

And he ate a big, Jethro Bodine bowl of cereal.

And I knew how Patsy felt when she sang:

‘I’m crazy for trying, and crazy for crying.’

‘And crazy for loving you.’

The End.

Delicious Ratatouille

  • 2-3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons dried parsley
  • 1 eggplant, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • salt to taste
  • A block of Parmesan cheese for grating
  • 2-3 zucchini, sliced
  • 1 large onion, sliced into rings (or chopped up fine)
  • 2 cups sliced fresh mushrooms (feel free to substitute here)
  • 1 green bell pepper, sliced
  • 2-3 large tomatoes, chopped
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Coat bottom and sides of a 1 1/2 quart casserole dish with 1 tablespoon olive oil.
  2. Heat remaining 1  olive oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Saute garlic & onion until lightly browned. Mix in parsley and eggplant. Saute until eggplant is soft, about 10 minutes. Season with salt to taste.
  3. Spread eggplant mixture evenly across bottom of prepared casserole dish. Sprinkle with a few tablespoons of Parmesan cheese. Spread zucchini in an even layer over top. Lightly salt and sprinkle with a little more cheese. Continue layering like this,  mushrooms (or not), bell pepper, and tomatoes, covering each layer with a sprinkling of salt and a healthy amount of cheese.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes.

5.  Do not call and invite Mr. Right to dinner.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rat-A-Tat-Tat-Touille

  1. casey says:

    I’m laughing so hard right now! You so should have told him it was teryiaki chicken!

  2. Kristin says:

    Bwahahahaha…my big sneak attack with food involved me putting carrots and broccoli and cauliflower through my food processor and mixing it in meat loaf. Luckily, my hubby never noticed. I waited until he ate it, like it, and had gotten second before I told him what I did.

  3. Sister Cindy says:

    My Mr Right likes his meat cooked to death. We start his steak 1/2hr b/4 mine. You could’ve told your Mr Right that it was chunks of arsenic after he spit it out…C

  4. Pingback: It’s A Bird. It’s A Plane. It’s Zucchini Cake! « Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

