Vintage Goodness

It was a good thrift store day!

Not as good as when I found the Ice O Matic, but darn close.

I had 3 glorious hours to roam the store without any kids and I found a bunch of great stuff. Some clothes for my kids, lots of kids clothes that are destined for ebay and some vintage goodies for me. I am not sure why I have this love of old things. I just do. I love the way they look and feel. I wonder about the stories behind them, where did they come from and who loved them before me?

I have been finding a piece of milk glass almost every trip for the last month or two. Not sure if it has always been floating around and I just never noticed until I began my love affair with it or what. This little piece had definitely seen some love. I think someone had used it for some type of craft project as it was covered in paint. It looked like someone had painted a design on it. Kind of childlike, maybe for a Mothers Day plant or something. I debated whether or not I could get the paint off, but for $2 it was worth a shot. The magic eraser worked like a charm.

2 more vases, this brings the number of milk glass vases I own to 10. I totally need to throw another Sangria party or bridal shower or something and fill these with gerber daisies. Totally worth $1.

Oh I love these! They are so 1960’s cool. Vintage bar glasses for 75 cents each.  Don’t you love how the little numbers will keep you from drinking someone elses drink and catching some communicable disease like, oh I don’t know, mono? Even though we ALL know you really only get mono from kissing. Remember back in high school when someone got mono? MONO! The kissing disease?!?! You might as well have written their number in a bathroom stall with the words “For a good time call”.

Can’t you just see me being all Doris Day and serving an Applejack Rabbit in one of these? Applejack Rabbit was a popular cocktail in 1965.  I want to bring it back. I am totally serving some of these in the fall. Perfect for an October party! Maybe I will break out the ice o matic.

Look at these beauties! When I first saw them I thought that soemone had distressed the frames to make them shabby chic. And while shabby chic is ok, it is not really my thing.

But shabby authentic is totally my thing! The original price sticker from Marshall Fields. $9.45. I paid $6.

Look at that beautiful oldness!

Some lady totally stalked my cart for awhile to see if I would put these back.

I gave her a good dose of the stinkeye and she finally went away.

I can’t say that I blame her.

These are fabulous.

They are destined for my bedroom wall.

Wish I knew their story. Who owned them? Whose wall did they hang on? What stories could they tell? And why did someone give them to the thrift store?

I will again take this opportunity to ask you all that if something happens to me, DO NOT let Mr. Right give my treasures to the thrift store.

Cause if that happens, I will haunt you.

With my Applejack Rabbit in hand!

I am linking up with some like minded thrifty souls for a great treasure sharing time!

Check out Apron Thrift Girl.

And Southern Hospitality.

Don’t forget Linda at Coastal Charm.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in thrift, Thrift Store Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Vintage Goodness

  1. OMGosh…I’m soooo lovin’ those COOL bar glasses! HAPPY NTT!

    Blessings,
    Linda

  2. kate says:

    I would have stalked those glasses.

  3. raggygirlvintage says:

    Those vintage floral prints are amazing!! Great find.
    Tracey

  4. Vicky says:

    Love the glasses and the prints. I have two almost like them hanging in my bedroom. Blessings, Vicky

  5. Oh, those are great finds. Your story telling is fun too, with those retro glasses & the botanicals. I always love pretty botanicals too.

  6. Nancy S says:

    Applejack rabbit? Never heard of it. Very intriguing name. The pictures are great – real shabby is the best. Enjoy!

  7. sue says:

    you are funny. love your expressions, “gave her the stink eye and jumping around like a nincompoop” Nincompoop reminds me of Bugs Bunny and he is a class act. I will be reading you so please continue to be entertaining!

  8. Great finds! I really adore the milk glass!

    Jeanine

  9. Tricia Anne says:

    You are one lucky girl! Those pictures are precious!! :o)

  10. Gayle West says:

    Hi I’m Megan’s mom. Just wanted to tell you I LOVE antique dishes too 🙂 You have some BEAUTIFUL ONES!!
    Good to see someone else LOVES BEAUTIFUL THINGS!!!
    Gayle

  11. Pingback: A Chip Off The Old McCoy « Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

