Dam Memorial Day Hike

I know.

I am a dork and I love the dam joke mileage I can get out of this post.

Bear with me.

Yes, that is the sun rising into the sky. We started out a little before 7am because we knew it would otherwise be a hot dam hike.

I have no photography skills and the sunlight killed this shot. This is the first railroad tunnel on the hike. There are 5 total. There used to be a fence at the end, but now it is opened up and you can hike right to the dam.

This is inside the tunnel. Immediately afterwards I wondered if there were any bats that I may have startled with my camera flash.

Stupid sun. This is the entrance to another tunnel. It looks like a scary cave.

Except you guys all know I would not enter a scary cave.

3.5 miles later.

The dam bridge. It should open in the next few months. I don’t know if I can drive across it. It was making my legs shake a little bit just taking the picture. And I am not really afraid of heights. I am afraid of big open spaces in the middle of the sky on a skinny bridge. Last year I had to drive the road down the mountain from Crater Lake in Oregon.

Beautiful isn’t?

All the way up there, the car hugged the side of the mountain.

And I remember thinking I was glad that I would not have to drive back down on the other side of the road. We were supposed to drive to the top and then down some other road and back to the highway.

Except for this.

A. That is not me with Gabby. It is my aunt.

B. This amount of snow closed the road and I had to drive back down the other side and guess what?

No guardrails.

My legs shook for 3 days!

Dam lake.

Dam scary bridge.

Dam traffic.

Dam tourists.

I .

Am.

Killing.

Myself!

We had to hike back up this hill. I know it doesn’t look all that bad from the comfort of your chair, but it was dam steep.

Dam ugly.

Dam dark in there.

Some kind of hardy desert flora.

Or is it fauna?

Merriweather?

(Comment if you get that!)

I love these little fluffies.

View of the marina.

Kind of had flashes of Wile E. Coyote inside these tunnels. He would always be in a tunnel, all unsuspecting and innocent until a  big train ran him right over.

Dam.

The lake is low. For all my non desert friends, the dark part of the top of the island used to be the only part that was above water. The white is the water line.

This is the last picture I took on the hike.

We hiked 7 miles in just over 2 hours.

We were dam fast.

And dam tired.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dam Memorial Day Hike

  1. Kathy T says:

    In this fairy tale……I picture you as Princess Aurora 🙂

  2. Kristin says:

    Flora, Fauna, and Merriweather…I LOVE those 3 fairies!

    And, hehehe, I have to admit I like the dam jokes. Titan’s Curse (from the Percy Jackson series) has some great dam jokes.

  3. Melissa says:

    Yes – Flora Fauna and MErriweather from Sleeping Beauty – so fun! It was a dam fine post!

Leave a Reply

