These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things

When the dog bites! When the bee stings! When I’m feeling sad…….

Oh. Sorry. Got carried away.

I super love Julie Andrews in The Sound Of Music. I played one of the kids in the musical when I was in 5th grade. I still remember my lines. “My name is Marta. I am going to be 7 on Tuesday and I’d like a pink parasol”.

Or some beautiful California Pottery. This is Maddux of California. I paid $4 at the thrift Store. It is fabulous. I love it. It lives on my table and holds fruit. It looks marvelous when it is full of clementines.

Talk about some vintage eye candy!

Most of my treasures I am sharing today I found in the not too distant past. Last week was kind of hairy with school ending and preschool graduation, so I had to drag the almost 2 year old and the almost 8 year old along on my one quick cruise around the thrift.

Thankfully the 5 year old was busy preparing for his baccalaureate celebration.

These are the two goodies I snagged in between chain feeding the baby Teddy Grahams and being banged in the ankles with the shopping cart from the oldest.

This little sweetie has no mark, just the number 16 on the bottom. $4

I was stinkin happy to find this one! Anchor Hocking hobnail vase. $4

So then Mr. Right sees these. And he says “What is all this milk jug pottery stuff?” “Um, yeah, well it is called milk glass Mr. Right and I just happen to love it!” So he asks if I am collecting it now. Duh. So then he says…..

Are you ready for it?

“You are just like your mom.”

(Insert a huge horrifying gasp here)

MY MOM?

My zip loc bag washing, cool whip container saving, jigsaw puzzle setting, Game Show Network obsessed mom?

I think not.

These two are Nasco, the Springtime pattern. I think I paid $6 for the set.

Does anyone know what kind of blossoms these are?

More cute milk jug pottery. This little number is marked Fire King. $3

This is one of my absolute favorites. I love the colors. It’s not marked anywhere. $4

Not that I care about marks. I just buy what I love.

And I love this! Got this one at an Antique store in Kingman, Az. It is Mottahedeh from Italy. Paid $5 for this which I thought was kinda steep, but it makes me happy whenever I look at it. A side not…if you ever get the chance to hit the Kingman antique stores, I highly recommend that you do. They have great stuff and great prices.

Love this little brown beauty. She is made by DeForest of California. Think I paid about $4-5 for her. She looks great piled high with brownies.

I think I will use her this week for serving Mr. Right Ratatouille.

Every.

Single.

Day.

Please visit my lovely friends Apron Thrift Girl, Southern Hospitality and Coastal Charm. It’s thrift share day and there is thrift bounty galore!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things

  1. Mimi says:

    You found some great treasures…my favorite is the piece of Maddux…that is gorgeous!

  2. Laura says:

    Love the picture of the little graduate – and all the pottery finds! The Anchor-Hocking hobnail and milk glass are so beautiful.

  3. Van says:

    So much beautiful glass eye candy! I love all of your weekend finds.

  4. Kristin says:

    Those are great pieces. I love the one you use as a fruit bowl and the brown one at the end.

  5. Rhonda says:

    really pretty milk glass!

  6. Amy Stark says:

    Such great goodies, you have an amazing eye.

  7. Kate says:

    Lovely finds. Those pink flowers are wild roses, or prairie roses, I think. They’re the provincial flower of Alberta.

  8. Jennifer says:

    I was at a garage sale the other day and saw some milk glass vases and thought of you! 🙂

  9. Gretchen says:

    Do you think they might be cherry blossom’s?
    Anyway, thats my guess.
    Is there a prize for the right guess?—hum…..I’ll have the Fire King….nice find!

  10. Mary says:

    LOL at reading your story. I thought you were describing my mom when you were talking about saving cool whip containers and setting jigsaw puzzles. She hangs them all over her house.

  11. Comparing you to your mom! How dare he. But you found great things. I am glad they made your heart sing, and in memory of Julie, you too!

  12. Sister Cindy says:

    Those flowers that you wanted to know about on that one dish? They look like pink ones to me….

Leave a Reply

