My First Frittata

I am on a healthy kick lately. Drinking my water, doing the shred, walking every morning, etc. Must be close to shorts season.

So I always make quiche, but had never made a frittata. And frittata is a fun word, let’s just get that out of the way right now.

Ok.  It is basically an omelet thingy that you don’t have to fold. It’s is not a quiche, because it doesn’t have a crust.

And you can fill it with whatever you want!

Love me some artichokes!

Throw a little garlic in with your peppers and make sure you have a pan that can go from stove top to oven.

I cut the amount of whole eggs and increased with egg whites to save some calories.

I needed to save calories on the eggs so I could load it up with fresh parmesan.

Some oregano (which I CANNOT get to grow in my little herb garden) and some fresh ground pepper.

And you cook it on the stove until the bottom sets.

Isn’t it beautiful?

Then you shove it under the broiler for a few minutes.

Except I was not able to flip it out of the pan like Rachel Ray or Emeril or Bobby Brady Flay.

And speaking of Bobby Brady. What the heck was his deal? Has there ever been a bigger whiner than Bobby Brady?

Oh. Right.

Poor crazy Jan.

Crazy as an artichoke frittata.

Anyways it was super scrumptious. And now I am on a frittata kick. Last night I made one with asparagus and canadian bacon. The trick to get them out of the pan like Bobby is to let them set for about 5 minutes before you do the flip.

Why am I obsessed with the Brady kids lately?

I need help.

Red Pepper & Artichoke Frittata

  • 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 14-ounce can artichoke hearts, rinsed and coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • Freshly ground pepper to taste

Heat 1 teaspoon oil in a 10-inch nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add bell pepper and cook until tender, about 2 minutes. Add garlic and crushed red pepper; cook, stirring, for 30 seconds. Transfer to a plate. Wipe out the pan.

Whisk eggs in a medium bowl. Stir in artichoke hearts, Parmesan, oregano, salt, pepper and the bell pepper mixture.

Set a rack about 4 inches from the heat source; preheat the broiler.

Brush the pan with the remaining 1 teaspoon oil; heat over medium heat. Pour in the egg mixture and tilt to distribute evenly. Reduce the heat to medium-low and cook until the bottom is light golden, lifting the edges to allow uncooked egg to flow underneath, 3 to 4 minutes. Place the pan under the broiler and cook until the top is set, 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 minutes. Slide the frittata onto a platter (Good Luck) and cut into wedges.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Frittata

  1. Kristin says:

    We love fritattas.

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog! And we LOVE fritattas as well! I’m so glad you posted the recipe, I’ll have to try this one! 🙂
    Kristi

Leave a Reply

