Taste of Summer

I did not know that you could buy jam in a store until I was probably 8 years old.

Seriously sheltered from life, I assumed everyone’s mother made jam at home.

So the grocery store had a screamin deal on blackberries and I bought 5 of those little packages. I was dreaming of cobbler and buckle and blackberry ice cream.  Figured I could even throw some into a batch of sangria. And then along comes life and the blackberries sit half forgotten in the fridge.  The big kids went to visit my sister for a few days and I, in some state of healthy inspired brainwashed craziness, decided it would not be a good idea to have either cobbler or buckle or ice cream in the house without the kids. And of course since they were gone, the need for a vat of sangria was pretty much diminished.

Then the whole ‘wasting food, starving people in China would love to have those blackberries’ guilt washed over me and EUREKA, I can make some freezer jam.

Just. Like. My. Mom.

Yikes.

So I sped off to Target to pick up some sure jell.

Except they didn’t have any.

So I went to Albertsons.

And they didn’t have any.

Where the hello is all the sure jell in Nevada?

I found this stuff instead.

And guess what?

It is better than sure jell!

You don’t even have to boil it! Which I was thinking it isn’t freezer jam if you don’t boil it and get all sweaty with hot fruit swirling around and steaming up your glasses. But it totally works great! Good thing, because it was about 108 the day that I made the jam.

So I mashed all the blackberries up and of course did not have quite the full 4 cups that I needed. Which is pure crap, because I had 4 cups of blackberries when I started.

I did have some strawberries at the end of their life expectancy and that saved the day.

Perfect.

So you mix your sugar with the no cook pectin stuff.

And add the fruit.

Couldn’t be easier.

Really. A monkey could do it.

Hey little monkey, your job is to make freezer jam all day long. Get those little monkey feet in gear and wash your little monkey paws before you start.

Like Marcel on friends!

Remember him?

Why did they write him out? I loved when he would poop in Monica’s shoe.

I suppose you could buy jars with the fun little canning lid things, but any washed out glass jar will do.

Seriously.

That’s it.

The jam is done.

You just let it sit out for about 30 minutes and stick it in the freezer if you don’t need it right away. Otherwise keep it in your fridge. You could use peaches (next on my list) strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, etc. And there is no canning, boiling water, pressure cooking craziness involved. And that is a good thing.

Because I have an unnatural fear of pressure cookers. Like what if the lid blows up and knocks my head right off my body?

And plus, I don’t have a pressure cooker.

Or a monkey.


No Cook Freezer Jam

4 cups of crushed fruit

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 package Ball No Cook Freezer Jam Pectin stuff. (you will find this by the canning jars NOT the jello)

Mix together the sugar and pectin.

Add the crushed fruit and stir together for about 3 minutes.

Ladle into clean containers and store in freezer until use.

(Make sure to leave a little room in the jar/container for expansion)

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Taste of Summer

  1. Blackberries are my absolutely favorite berry. My mom made freezer jam when I was growing up. She doesn’t make it any more, says it’s easier and cheaper to just buy it 😦

  2. Sister Cindy says:

    Sister Sherry said that you never helped mom make jam. You were the princess.

  3. Janice says:

    I never said I helped. She is just jealous because my jam is so much better than hers.
    Hah!

Leave a Reply

