Vintage Wedding Treasure

So if you got married in 1902 it is not like you could run down to Bed Bath & Beyond with the handy scanner and create a dandy little wish list for your guests to pick from.

In 1902, the guests are on their own.

Every guest for himself.

Wow. This is at least 108 years old. That absolutely fascinates me. And I wonder about the newlyweds from 1902.

What were they like, what were their names, did they live happily ever after?

I hope they did.

My friend Becky called me and told me her neighbor was having a moving sale and she had a lot of antiques that she would be wiling to let me have first chance at. Of course, as some of you know, some peoples definition of an antique is a Simon game and a few Trapper Keepers.

So much sweeter than a Trapper Keeper and not a Simon game in sight.

Marked West Germany on the inside. These make me smile.

Some tea towels.

This sweet lady was moving and selling her mothers things. Treasures that she could not take along and was happy to see them go to a home where they would be cherished.

These are small table toppers and either matching hankies or very small napkins.

Everything had belonged to her mother or grandmother. Grandmother was the aforementioned 1902 newlywed.

These linens are all like new.

Look at my super pink Apron!

Isn’t it soooo Holly Hobbie?

I had a pink Holly Hobbie bedroom set when I was about 8.

This is the 21st century Holly Hobbie. Not nearly as cute, in my opinion. Who would want a bedroom set with her on it?

I believe this was another 1902 wedding gift. Can you imagine making this? If I were to make you one of these for your wedding, it would be because you were not getting married until 2034. And even then it probably wouldn’t be ready in time.

Amazing.

This is going to be my new dresser scarf.

It wasn’t until I was taking this picture that I realized the crochet pattern made a butterfly.

These belonged to the mother of the garage sale hostess. Her mother is 95. Not sure why she kept her skates for 80 years, but Hello! Someone call Norman Rockwell!

How cute are these going to be next to an old sled at Christmas time?

Must start looking for an old sled…..

These are from the thrift store. I headed there right after the garage sale. These are all sterling silver. They will be headed for ebay.

This is it.

I saved the best for last.

It is a hand crocheted bedspread, will easily fit a queen size bed.

It is the mother of all 1902 wedding presents.

These are raised on one side and flat on the other. Some kind of phenomenal crochet pattern the likes of which I could never hope to replicate.

I had to pay my friend Maria $10 to finish my crochet project in home ec class 1986.

It was a turtle. (In case you were curious)

I paid more than $10 for my treasures.

I don’t even want to say how much, because I am afraid Mr. Right might read this.

Honey, it was less than your new iphone.

I promise.

I am linking up with all my other friends at their treasure fabulous blogs.

Come visit Southern Hospitality, Apron Thrift Girl & Coastal Charm for lots of treasure eye candy!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Vintage Wedding Treasure

  1. Vicky says:

    What a wonderful friend to let you know ahead of time! I love the handmade bedspread and all your other treasures. Blessings, Vicky

  2. LORI says:

    I love those skates. oh, and I had all that Holly Hobby stuff at 8 too.

  3. Van says:

    Loving your treasure, you have some beautiful vintage goods!

  4. iMadeItSo says:

    followed you from apron thrift girl and oh wow, what a lot of fun stuff there! that crocheted cloth makes my hands hurt, i know just how much work that is! and about holly hobby… (happy sigh)… i had a whole post about her! the eggs are cute, but that little note on the back of the dish really made me gasp a little. i LOVE stuff like that. a bit of history, someone’s story, right there in your hand.

  5. Nancy S says:

    I’ve seen people making lace by hand. All I can say is wow! The patience required is of a magnitude above a saint.

    I love the china set, it’s beautiful. It makes it interesting that each piece has a story -even if they can’t relate it to us you know it’s there. 108 years is a long time. If only the china could talk!

  6. Laura says:

    Those vintage linens are a treasure! Love the bedspread – hope you can use it to show it off.

  7. Wow, you found some really beautiful treasures! I just love vintage linens. I can’t believe how old that piece of China is; that’s sweet 🙂

  8. Oh how I remember Holly Hobby. You found some great stuff. Thanks for stopping by.

  9. Pat Harris says:

    What beautiful linens you found~ Love them all. I have a tablecloth that my MIL crocheted for me one Christmas. She has since passed and I treasure this piece. You did good at your sale. Love everything. Blessings, Pat

  10. kate says:

    That bedspread is phenomenal.

  11. Mimi says:

    You found some beautiful linens, the tablecloth is just gorgeous, as is the bedspread.

  12. Wendy says:

    You got some amazing things. I LOVE those eggs. It’s amazing the workmanship that went in to things in the past.

  13. sherrie says:

    What a great find. Fabulous. I am drooling. I would take it all. Thanks for sharing.

  14. Cristina says:

    What amazing treasures! What lucky finds – the linens, the china, the ice skates, I have a bad case of thrifting envy……

  15. Kristin says:

    OMG, those are truly amazing! I am so glad all those wonderful handcrafts found a loving new home with you.

  16. Pingback: Christmas Thrift Sharing | Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

