Random Thoughts on Nancy Drew

I have been voraciously reading all the Nancy Drew books that I got at the thrift store this past month. I can’t help but be puzzled by some things about this girl detective.

For instance, where does all her money come from? She is always out on adventures with Bess & George and they stay in motels, cottages, go shopping, go to restaurants, etc. but she never has to go to work. Does she have a job in between mysteries? Does Carson Drew just hand her wads of cash on his way out the door to business trips? Is Ned her sugar daddy??

She is always described as a ‘titian haired beauty’ in the books. What the heck is that? All I can come up with from googling titian is some old renaissance painter dude. Was she his model, his muse, his mistress???

How did her mother die?

How come Ned & Burt & Dave all go to college but the girls don’t? Are they just languishing around waiting for one of the boys to put a ring on it?

How many times can you fall for the old ‘haunted apparition is really someone with an old movie reel projector’ trick?

How much does Hannah Gruen get paid to sit around the Drew house doing nothing and taking care of no one because Carson is on a business trip and Nancy is out at a lake cottage somewhere solving a mystery. Where do I apply for that job?

How come they never go to keg parties in the woods?

Where do her & Ned go to make out?

How come Carson Drew does not have a girlfriend? He is a successful lawyer in his early 40’s and from the pencil sketches I have seen of him in the books, he is rather easy on the eyes.

And finally, where in the world is River Heights?

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Thoughts on Nancy Drew

  1. Lora says:

    I can always count on you for a good chuckle or two…sometimes a good belly laugh…

  2. Kristin says:

    I loved reading Nancy Drew. Funny post. BTW, titian haired = red head

Leave a Reply

