Bananarama Muffins (and the Bangles)

I heard a rumor……

That these were the best Banana Muffins EVAH.

(Did you get the Bananarama song reference, or are you really dim? Or not a Bananarama fan?)

It was another one of those weeks when no one ate the bananas. I simply cannot predict what the banana consumption in my house will be. Sometimes they are gone in a day and sometimes they would go uneaten until the second coming if I did not make banana bread or something with them.

So I decided on some muffins.

It was just another manic Monday.

Oh. Oh. Oh.

The Bangles!

Found them at Savers last week, all officially silver stamped with the .925 stamp, but kind of grungy.

I was going to sell them on ebay, but after I polished them up……

I am loving my new silver bangles.

Walk like an Egyptian….

I had to take them off to make my muffins.

Bangles get in the way of  banana mashing for sure.

These bananas were super ripe. Totally easy to mash.

They were mostly healthy. I went ahead and used white sugar, figuring it would be cancelled out by the whole wheat flour.

Substituted apple sauce for the melted butter.

Perfect banana muffin batter.

Then you make a crumbly topping.

I can never shake the thought that brown sugar must be healthier than white sugar. I think the same of brown vs white eggs.

Combining the butter and topping ingredients works best if you just use your hands.

It does take awhile, but the results are better. Don’t worry about the carpal tunnel like thumb cramps.

Oh. That’s some glory right there!

Sprinkle it over your muffin tops.

Remember the Muffin Stumps Seinfeld episode? Where Elaine has the idea just to sell the muffin tops and then donates the stumps to the soup kitchen?

I wish they would bring Seinfeld back.

My super favoritest Seinfeld episode was where Kramer kept getting calls for Moviephone and he would look the showtimes up in the newspaper and pretend to be the moviephone recording.

‘Press the first 3 letters of the title of the movie you would like to see’

‘You have chosen Cruel Summer. Is this correct?’

No

‘You have chosen Eternal Flame. Is this correct?’

No

‘You have chosen Hazy Shade of Winter. Is this correct?’

No

‘Why don’t you just tell me the name of the movie that you would like to see?’

I am all over the place today.

Bananarama, The Bangles, Seinfeld.

The good old 90’s.

Goddess on a mountain top. Burning like a silver flame. The summit of beauty and love. And Venus was her name.

She’s got it. Oh baby she’s got it.

I’m your Venus. I’m your fire.

It’s your desire.

Banana Crumb Muffins

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 bananas, mashed
3/4 cup white sugar
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/3 cup butter, melted
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon butter

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Lightly grease 10 muffin cups, or line with muffin papers.

In a large bowl, mix together 1 1/2 cups flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. In another bowl, beat together bananas, sugar, egg and melted butter. Stir the banana mixture into the flour mixture just until moistened. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups.

In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, 2 tablespoons flour and cinnamon. Cut in 1 tablespoon butter until mixture resembles coarse cornmeal. Sprinkle topping over muffins.

Bake in preheated oven for 18 to 20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of a muffin comes out clean.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bananarama Muffins (and the Bangles)

  1. Dana says:

    Banana muffins?! Done. My 3 ripe bananas are calling my name.

Leave a Reply

