Thrift Store Serendipity & Burt Reynolds

I am dying here!

I leave for Wisconsin in less than 24 hours and instead of packing up, I am here sharing my treasures.

I am linking up with Southern Hospitality for sure and hopefully will find a wi fi connection when I get to Ashland so I can link up with Apron Thrift Girl and Coastal Charm for all the weekly thrift share parties. Even if I can’t link, you all can visit their wonderful blogs that are full of thrifting treasure stories.

And I have to move it with this post because I seriously need to pack and do laundry. Our flight takes off at 6:45 am, which means we have to leave the house at O’ dark thirty to get to the airport on time.

So here is what I found!

More milk glass! The streak is back on. This brings my vase collection up to eleven and earned me a big fat eyeroll from Mr. Right.

Here are my happy pretties on display.

Serendipity
-noun
1. an aptitude for making desirable discoveries by accident.

My first serendipitous find.

I had found 4 of these vintage wineglasses last year and of course Max broke one (which, sadly, was full) the first time I used them. I found this lonely one on Saturday at the thrift. $1.50. Now I can drink wine with three friends instead of just two.

Serendipitous find number two was this Lia Sophia necklace to which I had purchased the matching earrings at a wine infused Lia Sophia party last year. I had not however imbibed enough wine to go ahead and order the necklace too. I think it was around $45 retail. I paid $4.

Serendipitous find number three is this vintage western hat. It is made by Bailey, and is marked Olsen Bros. Clothing Spokane, Washington.

It is serendipitous because I was just talking about Halloween and how I want to go as Dolly Parton & Burt Reynolds this year.  Really. I just said it on Thursday and then I find the hat on Saturday.

So Mr. Right will be Burt Reynolds.

Not the gross dirty Boogie Nights Burt Reynolds.

And certainly not the hairiest ever Cosmopolitan centerfold Burt Reynolds.

Holy inappropriate bearskin rug pictures!

I feel kind of dirty now.

I am going more for this look with Mr. Right.

And you guys! I have absolutely the best, most to die for Dolly Parton dress ever! I will share it on another day, because it is in my closet and I am supposed to be packing, so I just don’t have time. But trust me. It is divine.

I really do love this hat. I just need a fake mustache, a gaudy western shirt and a wheelbarrow full of body hair to complete the look for Mr. Right.

And boy oh boy, is he ever excited. He can scarcely wait till Halloween.

I think this is pyrex, but am not sure because there is no mark on it. Anyone know? $2

And these little old lovelies. $4

I didn’t notice until just now that they are completely different shades of green.

Not sure where they are going.

But I am sure of where I am going!

Wisconsin baby!

Land of cheese & beer.

I will be posting lots of pictures and keeping you up to date on all our adventures there.  Am dying with excitement over the upcoming 4th of July parade and family cook out.Will hopefully be able to hit some garage sales/thrift stores while I am there. Of course I will be visiting my Mom’s thrift store that she volunteers at. I need a gig like that. What a dream!

Hoping I won’t serendipitously find the poster print of the Burt Reynolds Cosmpolitan Centerfold.

Yikes.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in thrift, Thrift Store Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Thrift Store Serendipity & Burt Reynolds

  1. Kristin says:

    Love the great finds!

  2. Vicky says:

    You go girl Burt is looking good! LOL You found some great treasures. Blessings, Vicky

  3. I so love that cool mixing bowl…just my style!

    Blessings,
    Linda

  4. sherrie says:

    Love the mixing bowl, but honestly, who doesn’t love Burt. I remember that photo. Thanks for sharing.

  5. dogsmom says:

    Welcome to Wisconsin!
    I am sure you will find some time to go thrifting here. We have milkglass vases at EVERY yardsale. And some other milkglass items are not too hard to find, either.

    I think the bowl looks like Pyrex. I believe that is a pattern they used. Any way, it is pretty and useful.

    And if I told you my age at the time Burt did that centerfold…TMI!
    Looking forward to seeing the Dolly dress. DYK- this is Dollywood’s 25th season?

  6. Pingback: Thrift Store Bounty & A Strange Phenomenon « Feels Like Time

  7. Pingback: Cookies, Coffee & A Burt Reynolds Update « Feels Like Time

  8. Pingback: If I Only Had A Brain « Feels Like Time

  9. Jo Ann Ross says:

    After WW2 my parents owned and operated Olsen Brothers Clothing till they turned the business over to my brother in 1978. He ran the store till it closed 12/97.
    I’m not sure what has happened to Bailey Hat company.
    It is a treasure.

  10. janis hansen says:

    random. because someone had posted something about smoky and the bandit on facebook and another commented about googling burt reynolds i decided to try it for the fun of it (smoky and the bandit currently residing in my netflix queue). i found this crazy picture and clicked on it. it brought me here. i’m sorry to admit that that is why i’m here. but i just wanted to comment that i’ve never met another person my age (i’ll be 40 later this year) with my name! even if it is the “other” spelling! i especially find this odd since janis joplin was so popular. apparently not with the baby-having set (at the time). fun stuff here!

    • Janice says:

      OMG! The weirdest thing happened when I posted that whole Burt Reynold post-I started getting hundred of hits a day and then I was like ‘Who are all these weirdo Burt Reynolds lovers”?

      And Yes–Why are there not more of us named after Janis Joplin, such a worthy namesake (except for the overdose, of course!) May feature your comment in a blog post as the Burt Reynolds post still gets hundreds of hits a day!

  11. Pingback: For the love of Burt… | Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

