End of Vacation Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Pumpkin and chocolate together is pure genius.

I LOVE it!

I love it so much that I once entered a Ben & Jerry’s contest where you could create your dream flavor of ice cream. If they chose your flavor idea as the next limited edition, you would win a trip to New York and I think you got free Ben & Jerry’s for a year.

HELLO

I kindly submitted my suggestion of pumpkin flavored ice cream with chocolate chunks and a ribbon of cream cheese icing running through the whole thing.

Holy miraculous ice cream dreams.

I was not chosen.

Stupid Ben & Jerry.

So.

My vacation is over and it feels like my summer is over and that instantly puts me into the mood for fall and all the good things that come with it.

And fall is my favorite.

My friend Mary called me up yesterday and told me they have Halloween decorations in the dollar store already.

Well.

I pretended to be mildly horrified and disgusted by this blatant rush of the retailers.

But inside I was rejoicing! Plastic pumpkins and witches?!?! For a dollar?!?!?!

YESSSSSSSS

I had to use my cute little vintage bowl and make some pumpkin lovlies.

I missed my kitchen sooooo much while I was away. I hardly cooked a thing and when I did it certainly wasn’t from scratch. It was too nice outside and there was too much fun to be had.  Plus my mom had all her kitchen space taken up with washing her ziplocs and cool whip containers.

And HAH!

I have proof.

HAH again!

Ok. Done making fun of my mom (for now).

Plus, I knew the pumpkin spicy smell would alleviate some of the lingering odor in the kitchen.

What odor?

Well of course our fridge broke while we were gone. My neighbors (who are the bestest ever) discovered it while caring for our fish and they threw everything away and bleached it out.

But it still smelled.

Awful.

When I came in the door, I went all Sixth Sense.

I smell dead people.

Gabby graciously sprayed her ‘perfume’ around to cover the smell.

Then it smelled like dead hooker.

I looked around and hoped for Stabler to show up and investigate. When he failed to arrive, I boiled some coffee grounds and cinnamon and lit every candle in the house.

Much better.

Whole wheat flour is GREAT for making muffins.

I never measure my spices when making things like muffins and cookies. I go heavy on the shaking and call it good.

You can replace the oil in almost any recipe with applesauce. Saves a ton of fat which cancels out the calories from the extra handful of chocolate chips.

After Thanksgiving, the Walmart superstore had cans of pumpkin reduced to 10 cents.

10 CENTS!!

Throw a little vanilla in for good measure.

1/2 cup of sugar is not bad in the grand scheme of recipes that call for sugar.

Don’t over mix. Bad things will happen.

Hello friendly little morsels. Meet your new friend pumpkin lovely.

They go together like peanut butter and jelly.

Really.

This recipe will make 12 nice sized muffins.

Look at those creamy steamy chocolate chips.

Oh Yeah.

Bring on the Halloween candy!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup applesauce

2 eggs

3/4 can of pumpkin

1/4 cup water

1 1/2 cup flour ( white or whole wheat)

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

shake in a lot of cinnamon, nutmeg, ground clove and a pinch of ground ginger.

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 400 and grease or spray a muffin pan.

Mix sugar, oil, eggs. Add pumpkin and water. In a separate bowl mix dry ingredients except for chocolate chips.

Add wet ingredients to the dry mix.

Fold in chocolate chips.

Bake for 20 minutes.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to End of Vacation Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Kristal says:

    Hilarious! Literally laughed out loud when you said it smelled like a dead hooker. =)

  2. Missy says:

    Must run out and buy pumpkin. Really! I am trying to be all gluten free, so this will be my first experiment with my rice flour and gluten free vanilla. Been waiting for you to psot something to inspire my baking again:)

  3. Angela says:

    OMG, I think you are my baking twin! I also sometimes throw in some dried cranberries in my pumpkin-choco-chip muffins. So jealous of your 10 cent canned pumpkin!

  4. Kelly says:

    I made these today. Oh my they were tasty. Better than Starbucks pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, and those are pretty good. I used the applesauce like you said, but forgot to add the vanilla. When the timer went off, I was like, “Woo!” and I ran to the oven and grabbed me a nice hot muffin. Thanks for the delicious recipe!

Leave a Reply

