Lame

Still haven’t had time to get a new fridge.

What the heck!  Do you see that big empty space? It is the weirdest looking kitchen in the world.

I swear.

It reminds me of when you are talking to someone and they have a missing tooth or a band aid on their nose or some other strange malady that you just cannot help but stare at even though you know it is rude.

Like when you see Amish people out at the grocery store or on the side of the road selling pies. So out of the ordinary.

This actually happened while I was home.

A nice little Amish lady and her two sons selling pies on the side of the road in Chetek, Wisconsin.

So you all know I had to pull over. I mean, they had pie.

And I had to resist the urge to be one of those weirdo touristy types that asks to take a picture with them or try on their little straw hats or something.

So I bought two pies and we left. And then I look at the pies and they have stickers on them that say Chetek Bakery. What the heck? I thought this little Amish lady had hand rolled these with her great grandmothers wooden rolling pin (side note–found a cute vintage wooden rolling pin at the thrift store Friday!)  and baked them in her woodstove.

Did the Chetek Bakery just hire these Amish people to sit on the side of the road with some pies to fool people? Were these really even Amish people, or just a couple of actors dressed up because of  course it is more fun to buy from a cute little pie stand than to walk into the bakery a couple of blocks down the road.

It wasn’t even very good pie.

But I ate it anyway.

Here is our old fridge sitting morosely on the sidewalk. Mr. Right tried to entice some garbage pickers to take it away by placing a sign on it that says “Free. Broken”.

That oughtta do it.

I told him he should also write on there “Smells Great”.

Off to RC Willey tomorrow for a new fridge. Then I can stop running back and forth to the beer fridge in the garage. It is starting to get old.

I feel like Laura Ingalls, running out to the spring house for eggs and milk all the time.

Was Laura Ingalls Amish?

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Lame. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lame

  1. Kristin says:

    Try listing the fridge on freecycle as “good for parts only”. I can guarantee it will be gone ASAP.

  2. Pingback: Prettiest Earrings Evah! « Feels Like Time

Leave a Reply

