Cake & Ice Cream

Oh how I love cake. I like it all, chocolate with chocolate frosting, yellow with chocolate frosting, apple with cream cheese frosting, you name it and if it is cake, I will eat ir.

Except.

Carrot Cake. Because everyone knows that is not really a cake at all.

Ew.

And really, what is cake without ice cream? I am consistently amazed at my kids’ birthday parties when one of their little minions friends says ‘just cake for me’ or ‘no cake, just ice cream please’.. It is mind boggling. I just want to shake them and say “WHAT?!?!? ARE YOU CRAZY!?!?!?!”

Cake & ice cream are meant for each other!

Like Romeo & Juliet…..

Samson & Delilah

Bill & Monica Hilary

Etcetera.

I cannot keep ice cream in my house. If it is here, I must eat it. Unless it is Butter Brickle. Could you imagine if I went to a birthday party and they served carrot cake with butter brickle ice cream? I might go mad.

Last night I enjoyed some mint chocolate chip and some chocolate chip cookie dough. I had to sneak it in the office past the bionic eagle eyes of my kids because I truly don’t share dessert. So I set them up in my bed watching Ice Age on the big screen with a giant bowl of popcorn between, Then I beat it downstairs to my ice cream lair and ate to my hearts content. Pretty soon they hollered for another snack.

And I cringed, thinking they might remember the mint chip and cookie dough leftover from the birthday party. You see, when they were littler, they were much easier to fool.

‘Mumma, Can we have some ice cream”?

“We don’t have any ice cream darlings”.

“Yes we do, we have mint chip and cookie dough left from the party”.

“Oh, that party was weeks ago, you guys ate all that ice cream already”.

Their lack of time frame knowledge came in super handy

But last night I was safe. Gabby politely asked for a cutie (clementine) and Max requested a banana (Really, you guys?) although THANK GOD because I ate all the ice cream)

These are the ingredients for a devilishly delicious dark chocolate cake.

I made it for Gabby’s birthday.

I made it before I got my new fridge and was still trekking out to the garage for the butter.

How do you like my boiling water action shot?

You have to let the boiling water and cocoa mixture cool down for awhile.

While you are waiting, you cream the butter and sugar together.

And add the eggs one at a time. Tedious, I know.

Another action shot.

And another…..

Now you are alternating flour mixture with the liquid chocolate mixture.

At this point I was starting to think it looked like an awful lot of batter, so I re-check the recipe and read the part about having three round cake pans.

And I don’t have three round cake pans. Really. Who does?

Enter, the Cake MacGyver.

It all would have ended happily ever after, except that Mr. Right was in charge of putting the cakes in the oven and SETTING THE TIMER.

Well, you can guess how seriously he took that responsibility. No timer and they turned out on the dry side. I could only rescue the middle part of the square one, so I turned it into Gabby’s own personal piece and put it on the mini cake stand and slathered frosting all over it.

I put so much frosting on this cake, it was ridiculous.

It was still dry.

Mr. Right called it desert cake. (As in the Sahara Desert)

Nice.

Fortunately we had a lot of ice cream.

Triple Layer Chocolate Cake

2 cups boiling water
1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (use the special dark for best results)
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, softened
2 1/4 cups white sugar
4 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease 3 – 9 inch round cake pans. In medium bowl, pour boiling water over cocoa, and whisk until smooth. Let mixture cool. Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt; set aside.

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs one at time, then stir in vanilla. Add the flour mixture alternately with the cocoa mixture. Spread batter evenly between the 3 prepared pans.

Make sure someone who is responsible is in charge of setting the oven timer.

Bake in preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes.

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

