Thrift Store Bounty & A Strange Phenomenon

Before I share my treasures this week, I have to tell you about this strange phenomenon that has been happening since I posted this. My blog gets about 80-100 hits a day from people searching Burt Reynolds! Is that the craziest thing?  Are you one of those people reading this right now?

I had no idea old Burt was so popular these days. I mean, yes, way back when he & Loni were the ‘it’ couple of 1982, I could have understood why 80-100 people would google him or look him up in the card catalogue as the case was then.

So, in researching this stunning turn of events, I came across google trends.

And I am fascinated.

Doesn’t take much to fascinate me, I know. I am the person who looks (covertly) in your grocery cart to see what you have and then makes wild assumptions about your life.

19 yoplaits and a gallon of Haagen Daas = Dieter with a back up plan.

National Enquirer, People, Cosmopolitan and a quart of booze = breakup, a bad one.

Just my little habit of grocery store voyeurism.

And now I can go to google trends and see what the world is thinking about! WoooHooo. In case you are wondering today it seems as if everyone is up in arms about ‘gsi commerce’ (no idea) and Patricia Neal (An actress from the 60’s, I think she was friends with Burt & Loni). ALso making the top 20 were ‘Roald Dahl’, ‘pore strips’ and ‘truffles’. The only one that makes any sense to me is, of course, truffles.

Well.

Google trends is almost as fun as grocery cart watching.

Ok. Ok. Back to Thrift Share Monday! I am linking with my thrifty friends over at Southern Hospitality, Apron Thrift Girl and Coastal Charm. Be sure to visit them for a plethora of thrifty goodness.

I had to really search for my treasures this week. Sometimes there are so many, they are falling off the shelves right into my hands, and other times, like this past week, I really have to dig around.  (Hey do you guys think I used too many commas in the previous sentence or is it grammatically correct? Looks weird to me. Sara?)

This bright, pinky brown beauty was way at the back of the shelf. It is marked Frank Moreno, California USA. I couldn’t come up with a lot of info on his work, seems he is a bit of a mystery. Apparently there are a lot of collectors of his work, but no one seems to know much about Frank himself. He was in business in the 40’s through the 60’s (Hey maybe he was friends with Burt too!). This planter is the globe style, which he was well known for.

The colors are gorgeous and look at this crazing! I paid $5 for this piece and it is going to be a gift for someone. I know who, but they might read this, so, you know, shhhhh. (Again with the commas. Sara?)

Another milk glass vase from the Brody glass company. Paid $3. I am thinking this will hold some chocolate dipped pretzel sticks at the baby shower I am throwing next month.

Brody glass company again. Paid $4. I am going to have to throw lots of parties so I can use all my milk glass. Speaking of parties, if you look really hard in the back of the photo on the sink, you can see an empty beer can. Not sure why I felt the need to point that out.

These are not from the thrift. My mom gave them to me when I was home. I hate when I have to use my pretty vintage bowls with a big ugly plastic serving spoon. Mom said take ’em, so I did.

Oh. I love to polish silver. So satisfying.

Really.

I did purchased this rather wrinkly fabric at the thrift. There is quite a bit of it and I am going to use it for my September Sangria party. It just screams ‘fall party’ to me.

I usually don’t post my clothing finds, but these are kind of fun. All Gap or Gymboree and they will go on ebay when baby girl is done with them, so I count them as essentially free.

I got a bunch of other stuff that will be going on ebay. Kids cowboy boots for Halloween costumes and lots of back to school clothes. Had 30% off card for being a frequent shopper, so I took pretty good advantage of it.

Love & Peace to all you guys. Hope you have a fantastic week full of joy! I will be volunteering at VBS all week playing the part of various Bible peeps. You can bet my costume came entirely from the thrift. You should see my nifty cloak!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in thrift, Thrift Store Finds, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Thrift Store Bounty & A Strange Phenomenon

  1. Rebecca says:

    Fun finds! I love polishing silver, too. 🙂 And I LOVE that you used the term Thrifty Goodness. 😉

  2. sue says:

    Patricia Neal just died…she was married to Roald Dahl, the children’s author who wrote, James and the Giant Peach, The Witches, The BFG. She had a stroke while married to him and they lost a daughter, if I remember correctly. She won an Academy Award for her role in Hud, with Paul Newman, LUCKY lady. Kids just adore his books, he really was a wonderful author, especially for kids who don’t like to read. If you haven’t seen The Witches, with Angelica Huston, go rent it…but don’t watch it with little kids, she is pretty scary. I loved it as an adult, but she is one bad ### witch.

    So…just telling you, so you don’t place her with Burt and Loni…just saying. Not that I’m a snob, but she has some more street cred, at least with me. Plus, being a teacher, my genes always want to ‘splane things to people. Though, in his day, old Burt was cute and Loni was a hoot on WKRP.

    I look in carts too. 100 years ago, I cashiered and I used to get a kick looking at what people bought. You could tell what time of the year it was, hot days-ice cream, drink mixes; fall- comfort food and stuff for tailgating.

    • Janice says:

      Well that completely explains why Raold Dahl was also one of the top 10 searches! I adore his books. Once I dated a guy named James–and he WAS NOT a giant peach. Just sayin 😀

  3. sue says:

    Oh, and guess what? The pattern of your spoons is one I have? Does that create a bond between us?

    I agree with your post about some weeks you can’t find anything to buy and then other weeks, I need more money!

  4. Sara says:

    To Comma, or Not???? Honey, you just go ahead and comma all you want. There’s nothing so enjoyable as reading your random, run-on, stream of consciousness writings. And if commas help to give some semblance of sanity to all of your ramblings, then the more the merrier!

  5. iMadeItSo says:

    i feel the same about silver… do you use a cloth to polish? such satisfying work. really! 🙂

    i’m partial to milkglass too (along with millions of other people i’m sure!)… nice finds.

    ~ ana

    p.s. followed you from atg

  6. Sister Cindy says:

    I don’t think you bonded with Sue. Looks like you swiped some silver from her house, or else mom did. And I saw the beer can. Miller Lite….C

  7. jilly says:

    Well you ladies all seem to know each other very well by the comments left;-) Thanks for the chuckle.

    Love the pink bowl, though not a big fan of pink. Not that its the same Frank, but I once lived in Moreno Valley, CA which is named after a Frank Moreno who founded the area. Does that mean we have bonded…LOL And while living there I discovered that Moreno is brown in Spanish.

    Here stalking from apronthriftgirl

    jilly

  8. Pam says:

    Milk glass is becoming like silver at thrift stores and garage sales. I don’t know why so many people are selling it. Good for us who love it, but why don’t the old owners want it? Are they nuts?

  9. Great finds! I have the same two milk glass pieces. Looks like you’re bonding with lots o people! I love milk glass. Hydrangeas look great in them. Now, if only mine would bloom again.

  10. Jane says:

    Hi, Thanks for the nice comments on my blog. Great finds I love the Frank Moreno bowl. I can’t believe there are other people out there enjoy polishing silver too. I thought I was alone! Jane xx

  11. julie says:

    so is that sangria party in september perhaps while i will be there? i like the peach or apricot or whatever it is, memory a little foggy, wonder why

Leave a Reply

