Everybody’s Favorite Muffins

Also known as Chocolate Covered Strawberry Apple Oatmeal Muffins.

But that is kind of long to say.

Quite a mouthful.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

I am feeling super punchy because I have been staying up until the insane hour of, like, 10:00 pm for the last few nights. I am starring (yes, starring) in the Bible story station at Summer Blast (Vacation Bible School). So far this week I have played a scared Bible lady and a Bible times ship captain. Tonight I am starring as Paul.

Yep.

The Paul.

So far so good, except when I did this spectacular fainting scene on Monday night and got tangled up in my Bible cape and almost broke my knee.  So now I will be playing Paul with a limp.

Tragic.

Tomorrow I get to play the lame beggar guy which is actually pretty sweet because of the whole ‘he has crutches’ thing.

You know, for my knee.

I made these last weekend, before my whole foray into Biblical stardom.

I had some strawberries that were starting to get mushy so I figured I would try them in place of bananas in my muffins.

I love the Quaker Oats guy. Look how happy he is.

The oats add some texture to this recipe.

Plus they are fun and they make me feel healthy.

One lonely little egg is all you need.

Beat it up a little.

Chunky applesauce in place of oil. You could get super healthy and use unsweetened.

Mix all the wet stuff together.

Does not look too good does it? Kinda looks like throw up.

Adding the flour will make it look better.

Or not.

This will fix everything.

Alright!

My family went crazy for these.

They lasted exactly 12 hours. Mr. Right ate 3 and the kids and I each ate two.

Oh.

That only equals 11.

I must have eaten 3.

Amazing.
Especially considering that the weird chemical reaction between all the ingredients turned them a strange shade of puce.

That’s puce with a soft ‘c’ sound.

In case you thought I misspelled.

Which never happens.

Because in addition to being the Poppy Princess, circa 1980…..

(I have proof!) I was also the St. Agnes Grade School Spelling champion 1981.

But back to the Poppy Princess gloriousness.

You can just make out my starched crown and sash.

Pure Majesty.

Except for the freaky guy.

Really, mom, you let me get this close?

Looks like he wants my muffins.

Everybody’s Favorite Muffins

1 1/2 cups white or whole wheat flour

1 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup white sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

1 egg

1/2 cup milk (can use whole/skim/whatever)

1/2 cup applesauce

splash of vanilla

1 cup mashed strawberries

1 cup chocolate chips

Heat your oven to 375

Combine all the dry ingredients except the chocolate chips and set aside.

In a large bowl, beat the egg slightly. Stir in milk, applesauce and vanilla. Add the strawberries and combine well. Stir the flour mixture into the strawberry mixture until just combined.

Fill muffin tin with baking cups or just spray well with non stick spray.

Divide the batter equally amongst the cups. (this recipe will make 12 good sized muffins)

Bake for 15-20 minutes. (Check them after 15 and adjust the time until they are done)

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in Baking, Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Everybody’s Favorite Muffins

  1. Cousin Sandy says:

    The poppy princess photo is hilarious. That guy totally looks like he was from the Adam’s family.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I am totally making these later! 🙂

  3. Sister Cindy says:

    You’re scaring me. You might want your readers to know about the infamous “groin pull” also. Hope the knee is better.

  4. sue says:

    I was sitting here, in the dark, laughing at your description of your batter looking like throw up… I certainly didn’t see that coming. Thank goodness I wasn’t drinking something.

    I think I have found my muse.

    Being the curious person that I am, I followed the post about Mr. Green Jeans and laughed some more about Auntie Hell Hell. Can I be your new, best friend?

    Thanks for the laughs, you are quite the writer. I assume you were writing about over using commas. I have started to use “ellipses” which I suspect isn’t proper either, but it fits into my stream of conscious style of writing/expressing. Don’t change a thing, you do wander, but it is a great trip.

    Tell your sister no body steals my silver, I’m half Sicilian and it would nevah happin.

  5. sue says:

    an ellipse are the three little dots…like that…pauses. I never knew what they were called until some of my students came and told me. I know. First graders, teaching me about ellipses. But, old dog, new tricks. Plus, since I work with the lowest 20% of first grade readers, they must feel smart when they find out they can teach me something…and now, you too!

  6. sue says:

    Hey…How many friends named sue do you have? I see there is another post before this! Who is that Mayor? I do not recognize him!

  7. Jennifer says:

    Hey! Just wanted you to know I’ve been sharing the ‘Everybody’s Favorite Muffins’ Love:

    http://mrsraushel.blogspot.com/2010/08/whats-cookin.html

    I’m eating from the deliciousness of my third batch as I type this now. Thanks so much for sharing all of your recipes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

