Come On Get Happy

YAY!

It is Thrift Share Monday and I am linking with my friends over at Southern Hospitality, Apron Thrift Girl and Coastal Charm for all the thrifty parties. Be sure and visit them for more treasure tales.

I didn’t find a ton of stuff this week, but what I did find was awesome.

I am a sucker for drippy brown glaze pottery.

Bonus that it is shaped like a little witch’s cauldron! I can fill it full of Halloween candy. It will look perfect among all my pumpkins and fall decorations.

I SUPER puffy heart Halloween.

Pretty sure I have mentioned that here before.

Not sure who is the maker of this little gem. It is stamped USA.

I paid $1.99 for it because there is the teeniest hairline crack in the side. I pointed it out to the cashier and she immediately said I could have it for that price. Since it was for me and not resale or a gift, I was happy to pay that! I love it.

Limoges T. & V.

Isn’t it positively gorgeous? It really isn’t my style, I like the more farmhouse kitschy looking antiques, but the color on this piece was amazing and I think it will look beautiful piled high with brownies.

The T & V mark stands for Tressemanes & Vogt. This bell mark dates it to 1907-1917.

This is also Limoges. It is breathtaking. I am going to pile it high with tiny treats at my next party. It is much smaller than the other plate, probably an 8 inch salad or (in my case) dessert plate.

It is marked Limoges Coronet.

When I tried to research it, I came back with nothing. I was like, ‘What the heck, maybe I have a super rare Antique Roadshow worthy prize!’.

Dude.

I had my whole eyebrows arched, gasping, weeping Roadshow speech committed to memory before I figured out my little research problem.

I was googling ‘Limoges Corona‘.

Without the lime.

Looks like the Coronet piece dates from 1906-1920.

Two pieces of Limoges China just sitting in A thrift store in Henderson NV. All mine for $5 each.

Who gets rid of Limoges?

Well would ‘ya look at that.

David Cassidy’s Casserole dish!

For $5!!

What did I do to deserve this gem of a find?

Rueben Kincaid is probably dying of jealousy if he is reading this.

Well, it is actually vintage pyrex, the friendship pattern.

Ok. So David was a 70’s teen idol. But WAIT! What about his brother Shaun??

I mean David was ok, But holy heck.

Shaun.

Was.

Hot.

Hot. Hot. Hot.

Like, Africa Hot.

He was my first celebrity crush. I used Elmer’s glue and stuck pictures of him all over my Holly Hobby bedroom walls.

And now, 30 some years later, I am lucky enough to have his brother’s casserole dish sitting in my fridge full of leftover Southwest Chicken Chili.

I’ll give you that recipe tomorrow.

Or maybe Wednesday!

Love you guys!

Enjoy Thrift Share Monday, and make it a thrifty week!

About Janice

I am 40 years old. Loving life and (finally) being a grown up. I have 3 great kids that sometimes make me want to drink copious amounts of wine. I have been married to my amazing husband since 2001. I have more great girlfriends than you can shake the proverbial stick at. Join me in this adventure that is my life.
This entry was posted in thrift, Thrift Store Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Come On Get Happy

  1. dogsmom says:

    Big Smiles happening here. I had my class reunion this weekend so all the old crush music is still fresh in my mmory.
    My aunt had those Limoges dishes, I just did not know at the time how special they were. Wonder if my cousin kept any.

    I super heart the Big H holiday also, and will be posting soon the “pre-season” thrifty finds I collected recently.

    Thanks for sharing your great finds with us.

  2. Shara says:

    Great casserole dish–cute birds on lid. I too am a sucker for “drippy brown” glaze pottery-especially mugs.

  3. Angela says:

    Oooh! Oooh! Oooh! Tons of little tips here and there in your blogs! We had a Speedy Gonzalez Sunday and I didn’t even get to stop and say, “Hi!” Let alone stop and talk shop!

    I love reading your blogs, by the way…. ๐Ÿ™‚

    My two favorite lines: “I SUPER puffy heart Halloween.”

    “Shaun. Was. Hot. Hot. Hot. Hot. Like, Africa hot.”

    It’s like listening to you talk! Love it!

  4. laura says:

    Ohh I love your cauldron, so YUMMY!! great treasures ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Becky Fox says:

    How funny! Shaun Cassidy was the bomb when I was growing up. Yes his brother David was much more popular but Shaun was my favorite. I remember having a pair of bell bottom pants with a picture of Shaun Cassidy on them. I asked my Mom to order them from a Sears catalog. I must have been in the 1st grade. Oh the memories. You’ve found some good stuff. Those vintage pyrex dishes are great!

  6. Barbara says:

    I think you’ll find that David was a little more than just ‘OK’!

    More gorgeous pyrex. That pattern looks quite Scandanavian don’t you think. Very pretty.

  7. Sandy says:

    I was just thinking about you. I stopped at an estate sale during my lunch hour and all I could think of was your blog. I did not see any milk glass but I did run across a few very pretty plates. I know nothing about antiques. Anyway, I found this really pretty purple candy dish type thing. I’m going to email you a picture and you can tell me what you think. I don’t even know if it’s an antique but I had to have it.

    P.S. – LOVE the casserole dish.

  8. nigel says:

    This is some very nice pottery indeed. It sounds slightly off but food cooked in fine pottery ‘seems’ to taste. The one issue which makes this pottery excellent is that it has all been made by hand. Nothing by a machine in some far off production line in Asia.

    At http://www.sidestreetstudio.com we have been representing local potters for over 26 years and they do make superb work which is at very good prices.

  9. rebekah humes says:

    SERIOUSLY, I LOVE LOVE reading what you write, you NEVER fail in making me laugh!!!!
    Where you put all these treasures I’ll never know my friend. I honestly stopped going thrifting since April. WHY???? I did some cleaning and “HOLY CLUTTER” I started feeling sick! I think I am a hoarder…I guess I should’ve been born a 70 year old woman.
    I LOVE AND MISS YOU LIKE CRAZY!!!
    Elson Brown

  10. Leah says:

    Wow, love the pyrex covered casserole dish! Great find! Thrifting is so much fun. :o)

  11. sue says:

    Ok…So I went to the stupid thrift shop today!! I have NO IDEA what to look for or what I would do with things if I found it… I picked up a little thing and told my friend, you would buy it and do something adorable with it! I tell you!! Anyway…thanks for the Shaun Cassidy pic. I loved him!! Miss you!

  12. Monica says:

    Beautiful plates and very cheerful Pyrex-I don’t think I’ve seen that color combo before. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I so love your Limoges – if you get tired of them, have a giveaway ;).

  14. Chinsu says:

    Love your brown glaze pottery!

Leave a Reply

